11 digit local dialling - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-12-15, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 106
11 digit local dialling

I just got a new Samsung Galaxy Note 8, I live in the Vancouver area, and have the 604 area code. I can phone out fine with 10 digits, but anyone trying to phone me has to put a 1-6o4 before my number. I asked Bell, they said it was a technical glitch, and would take up to 48 hours to fix. It still did not work, I phoned again, and was told it was because there are so many cell phones now that you have to dial the 1 first. Has anyone ever encountered this before, and I don`t want family friends, or work having to pay long distance to call my cell ?
bluboy01newwest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-12-15, 11:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,442
^^^^
That is unusual. Did you have a previous phone? Did it work without dialing 1? Any chance that phone is based in an area that's long distance? I suspect that one who told you it was necessary really didn't know what they're talking about. Call again and escalate.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-12-16, 11:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 6,259
I agree. Bell probably messed up and needs to correct it. With number porting, a 604 area code mobile phone number could be just about anywhere in North America. In this case it shouldn't be anywhere else.
ExDilbert is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-12-19, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 106
Got the number changed ! The number they had originally given me was from Squamish, which is outside the calling area. I only wanted this phone for local calls for business mostly !
bluboy01newwest is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2017-12-19, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,442
^^^^
That's what I suspected.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome