Will your phone work on Telus/Bell's HSPA network? - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 04:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
I have a Nokia E61i I bought years ago unlocked. I used it on Rogers.

I am now with Telus and I'm sending my phone in to be repaired and would like to use the Nokia during the time my phones away. Will it work?

Thanks in advance!
dksmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 04:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,638
No, your Nokia E61i should not work on the Telus/Bell 3G (HPSA) network. A quick look at the specs http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_e61i-1858.php show the phone's 3G mode is only UMTS 2100. As outlined in the first post of this thread, Bell/Telus require UMTS/HSPA 850MHz and/or 1900MHz.

In addition, your Nokia E61i will only work on 2G (GSM/EDGE) networks in Canada, as no one uses UMTS 2100 (its primarily a Europe/Asia/Africa standard). Bell/Telus do not operate a 2G network, although as you pointed out, Rogers does.

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is offline  
post #63 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 05:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,491
^^^^
What do you call the old Bell/Telus CDMA EV-DO network, if not 2G? Has it been discontinued?
JamesK is online now  
post #64 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 05:31 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,708
Actually, Bell and Telus have been calling their CDMA networks 3G since before their HSPA network was live. However, whether it's 3G or not isn't really relevant, as I would assume that he was referring to GSM/EDGE networks.

Also, as I'm sure you well know, like almost every GSM or HSPA device, the E61i will not work on the Bell or Telus CDMA networks, so they are irrelevant in this case, and not worth mentioning other than to confuse the issue.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #65 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-08-17, 02:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto - Rogers
Posts: 18
Somebody should educate the Bell CSRs

I went through all the messages in this thread because I had my eye on a GSM-only phone and wanted to try it with my Bell SIM card. The phone would have been ideal for my use but I wanted to be sure it would work before buying one.

Two different Bell CSRs emphatically stated that "any GSM" phone would work on the Bell network.

I was doubtful - and sure enough when I put my SIM card in the phone it wasn't recognized.
1945 is offline  
post #66 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-08-17, 04:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,491
^^^^
A GSM only phone will never work on Bell, as they've never used that system. 3G phones will work, whether they have GSM or not.
JamesK is online now  
post #67 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-08-18, 11:02 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,708
As long as that 3G phone has UMTS or HSPA support for Bell's two frequencies.

But yes, Rogers operates the only national 2G/GSM network in Canada.

I found that Bell CSRs used to be very good about that. I suppose with sales of GSM only phones becoming rare in Canada, they no longer felt the need to be specific in training.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #68 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-10-25, 10:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Hello,
Thank you for this thread. I just want to confirm my thoughts that this phone would work on the telus network

http://android-sale.com/xiaomi-mi2.html

Thank you.
grondinm is offline  
post #69 of 129 (permalink) Old 2012-10-26, 02:02 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,708
As long as it's unlocked and those specs are correct, it should work fine.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #70 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-01-03, 07:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Will this phone has a chance to have good signal with Telus in Vancouver BC?

http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_z-5204.php

I'm looking for dual sim phone and this phone meets my needs very much, just except it supports HSDPA 1900 / 2100.

Anyone has any experience with a phone like this with just HSPA 1900?
suheric is offline  
post #71 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-01-04, 03:53 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,708
If that spec is accurate coverage will likely be limited. 1900 has the same problems as AWS with indoor penetration, so you will likely have trouble getting signal indoors.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #72 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-03-30, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
I have a phone I was using on the Rogers network. It is a ZTE Blade II. All it got on the Rogers network was the EDGE connection. I have switched to KOODO (Telus) but I tried the old phone on the network today and couldn't get a signal from any tower except ROGERS. No bell, no telus, no koodo.

Will it work, or only intermittently or what?

Network Technology GSM/GPRS/EDGE/HSDPA
Band GSM 900/1800/1900 (Tri-Band) HSDPA 900/1900/2100
corneiliousb is offline  
post #73 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-03-30, 10:35 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,708
You'll have coverage only where Bell/Telus is using 1900 spectrum. Where exactly that would be is hard to say. It's probably not usable day to day.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is online now  
post #74 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-04-01, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 3,658
Are you at least in a 3G coverage zone? (in this case, I'm referring to HSPA+ coverage -- not CDMA). If not, the phone won't work at all, since Telus/Bell (and their sub-brands) don't support GSM/EDGE service.

Given that on Rogers you'd only see EDGE coverage, I'm guessing that you are in a rural area. In that case, I'm sure the carriers would be more likely to use the 850MHz frequency so that it can cover longer distances with fewer towers.
BGY11 is online now  
post #75 of 129 (permalink) Old 2013-04-24, 02:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
HSPA 850MHZ phone

My phone has HSPA at 850MHZ /900MHZ/2100MHZ and UMTS at 2100MHZ.

Can I use it with having only HSPA 850MHZ in Canada? If it does, how well does it work?

Thanks,
zigzag is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell , compatibility , hspa , telus

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome