bb50/bb100 upload speeds - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-13, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 417
Hers a comparison between extreme and BB50 for me. I think I'll be making a call to support.
BB50
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Photo...png?w=14db67cf


Extreme
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Photo...png?w=f3a4a446
buckycat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-13, 05:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,749
Shaw Champ, if I posted my postal code could you tell me when my area (Edmonton, Strathcona) was being updated?
Gord Lacey is offline  
post #18 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 11:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver un55d8000,shaw gateway
Posts: 31
I wasn't aware there was going to be an upgrade in these speeds in the near future. That's fantastic! I'm already very happy with my broadband 50 50d/l and 3upload but 5upload is just that much better!
mmmbiscuits is offline  
post #19 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 11:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver un55d8000,shaw gateway
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckycat View Post
I updated from extreme to BB50 yesterday and am getting nowhere advertised speeds. The highest upload has been 2.5 and download the highest has been around 30.
I did the same thing as you in terms of upgrade. I also experienced the exact same problems later that night, with the exact same speeds (the speeds being still the same as my previous high speed internet)

I called up shaw support and they looked into it, and literally all they had to do was flick a switch and boom my speeds were at broadband 50 literally in seconds.

I suggest calling them as it could be something simple as them just "turning it on"

That's what happened to me, I hope your situation is similar to mine. Let us know how your situation goes!

Hope I could help you a bit!
mmmbiscuits is offline  
post #20 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 06:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_donk View Post
Has anyone been upgraded? I suspect not, as you really have to dig to even find mention of it on their site.
This page on the Shaw website, which I just found the other day, clearly shows the upload speeds as 5 and 10 Mbps for BB50 and BB100, respectively:

http://shaw.ca/Internet/Compare-Plans/

I have BB50 in North Vancouver, and currently only get 3 Mbps.
PaulB is offline  
post #21 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-15, 01:03 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 314
^^^^i live in North Vancouver has well and i only get 3 Mbps upload for BB 50
Jason316 is offline  
post #22 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-15, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 18
Hmm... When your city is set to Calgary, it shows 3/5 Mbps, if you tell it you're in north van, it changes to 5/10. I guess the upgrade just isn't done (or started?) here.

Thanks for the replies everyone.
mr_donk is offline  
post #23 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-15, 01:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,065
I guess you'll know that they'll have it "turned on" once the analog cable channels have been decommissioned in your area.
audacity is online now  
post #24 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-17, 07:45 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 314
Jason316 is offline  
post #25 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-18, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
I did speed test before and after having my cisco modem bridged and seem to have faster and close to service speeds. Prior to bridging I was getting 25 down and 2.5 up... now



I will check again at night, seems like evening speeds are a bit slower.
triplepete is offline  
post #26 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-18, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 314
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1715815092.png

my ping is now 15

what does that mean?
Jason316 is offline  
post #27 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-22, 08:28 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 540
Hmmm.... didn't notice a bump in upload speed. I'm on Broadband 100, and yesterday my upload speed on uTorrent was 600KB/s. Normally got up to 500KB/s upload.
tablo is online now  
post #28 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-01-23, 05:56 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 314
Jason316 is offline  
post #29 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 10:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver un55d8000,shaw gateway
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulB View Post
This page on the Shaw website, which I just found the other day, clearly shows the upload speeds as 5 and 10 Mbps for BB50 and BB100, respectively:

http://shaw.ca/Internet/Compare-Plans/

I have BB50 in North Vancouver, and currently only get 3 Mbps.
I was told today by support that the 5 Mbps upload speed for BroadBand 50 never was suppose to be 5 Mbps and that it was an error on their website. I expect to see all the 5Mbps corrected to 3 Mbps in the short term.
mmmbiscuits is offline  
post #30 of 164 (permalink) Old 2012-02-08, 07:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 14
Getting close to 5 up with BB 100 since I started the service on Sunday.

celly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome