WAN Load Balance Router and HH 3000 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-20, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Question WAN Load Balance Router and HH 3000

Hi,

I am in the process of ordering a WAN load Balance Router (TP-Link TL-ER5120Z) and adding a Cable modem to my existing Bell Internet. Reason for this is that I only can get 50Mb with Bell and I need more speed and failover. I have 6 heavy users and a tone of IOT devices. And probable the next reason besides more bandwidth/failover, I just love Bell Fibe TV.

Please see config below:
- Bell Services (All), internet, phone and Fibe TV, HH 3000
- Adding Rogers internet because all i can get is 50Mb with dual bonding through Bell
- 4 Bell PODs connected to the HH 3000
- Existing Netgear 24port Managed switch.

Question:
Is this doable in directing my 2 provider connections to the load balancer router and out to all endpoints?
Will my Bell Fibe TV still operate outside the HH 3000?
I assume the DHCP server and Bell Credentials will be on the Load Balancer and I would have to turn off the one on the HH 3000?

Thanks in advance
Matt
matdaj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-20, 04:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,530
You might want to learn how load balancing work. On gear from Cisco etc., load balancing is achieved by sending multiple connections via different links. That is one TCP connection will go entirely via one connection and the next will go entirely via the other. This means you won't see much improvement for a single user. You will however, get failover. If you get a Rogers connection, you might consider using them as the primary connection as they tend to have much better than ADSL rates. For example, I have a 60 Mb down/10 up package. They have other packages up to 1 Gb, IIRC. Rogers also provides IPv6, which I don't believe Bell does yet.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-21, 12:36 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Thanks for your replay. I understand LB and Networking very well, but the question still remains for me, how would the Bell HomeHUB and TV service react by moving my DHCP server to the router. Yes, I was going to make the 1Gig rogers connection my default and the Bell one my backup. Does Bell require the HB to manage the TV service and all its receivers?
Thanks again....
matdaj is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-22, 10:00 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 12,660
The Bell Fibe TV service only works over Bell's network. The STBs won't work if they are connected to Rogers internet.

Bell also expects the STBs to be directly connected to the Home Hub 3000 as well as any TV related apps, etc. to maintain full functionality. You may run into problems if an app isn't on the same subnet as the STBs and Fibe streaming will only recognize in-home access for devices on the same Bell subnet. You also have to handle the VLANs correctly if you insert any devices between the HH 3000 and the Fibe TV related apps and STBs.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome