Bell promised Fibe 16-I get 4 Mbps max - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 09:36 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Bell promised Fibe 16-I get 4 Mbps max

Hi guys,
New to the forum. I need some guidance.
I switched from Videotron during the holidays. I live in the Laval (Ste-Rose) area. I signed up for Fibe 16 (+TV + Phone). When the technician came, they said maximum speed I can have is 3.5 - 4.5 Mbps, due to the distance to the switcher box. Two years until I get the next gen (Fiber Optic) in the area, according to the install tech.
I need at least 10Mbps internet connection for my job.

Soooooooo.... they promised something to get my business, and now I'm screwed.

What can I do?????

Thanks in advanced.
rubenesque is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 03:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Push Bell to resolve it.

If their speed check tells you it is 4 Mbps call in and report that you are not getting what you are paying for and want something done. I had issues where I was not getting my download speed using the Bell Check (http://www.bell.ca/speedcheckup). Everytime I complained they increased my cap. Then the modem started dropping connectivity to the Bell network and the internet. They sent a tech who installed a DSL filter in my basement and used the modem jack on it as well as an existing cable to connect my modem. My phones were connected to another jack on the filter effectively separating modem communications from the phones. That did not solve the issue. The second tech they sent heard of the issues I was having and that the DSL splitter was installed and he stated that it was probably the DSLAM. Your issue may not be the same but the complaint is the same. Your not getting the speed you pay for! If Bell cannot do something to make things better then cancel and refuse to pay the cancellation fee as you were not getting the proper service. I know someone in Montreal who had slow speed and Bell installed a dry loop for him at no charge.
bigblueguy is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 08:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Bell only promises "up to ?Mbps." It's common practice for Bell to not provide the full speed but bill consumers as if it was delivered. (Fraudulent, maybe, but a lot of consumers don't know the difference.) It's up to you to cancel within the allowed time frame. That's 10 days in Ontario but may be different in other provinces. If you don't cancel, Bell will try to hold you to the full term of the contract. Your only options are to try another provider or move to a location where Bell can provide the full speed.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-01-14, 10:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Rogers)
Posts: 1,611
If they did not have the fiber to the node in your area then they should not have offered you the service. Keep calling tech support and ask to speak to a manager and threaten to cancel. Make sure they exhaust all possibilities. You should not be paying for 16M when you are getting 4.
Larry is offline  
Reply

Tags
speed limit

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome