Youtube Slow? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Youtube Slow?

I have MTS' Lighting Bolt plan (32 mbps) and I get a solid 20+ mpbs wirelessly all the time, everything is fast, except Youtube lately.

Youtube videos, even standard def, can take forever to load, they stutter, load...

I've got this problem using Firefox, and tried IE just for kicks, same issue.

Also, Youtube is extremely slow on my iTouch as well using the same wireless (everything else is fine).

I reset my modem and pvr and router to see if that helps, but it doesn't.

Has anybody else with MTS noticed this lately?

My typical speeds...
no123one is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 10:30 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 441
For me lately i have noticed it running well but I will keep a closer eye on it.
Netflix how ever is always running stable I would recommend giving mts tech support a call To see if they can fix it thanks

Currently with MTS(All services TV,Internet, Home phone and Cell phone)
gordon1111 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Thanks for taking the time to reply.

I wonder if it's a caching thing on MTS' side for YouTube, I don't know how that works. It's definitely not a system (computer issue) since the problem happens on all platforms, and my speeds everywhere else seem fine.
no123one is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 11:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 441
hmmm interesting When this is happening are you watching tv at all maybe has to do with the streams or something Maybe Macman will answer as he seems to be very good at this kind of stuff.

Currently with MTS(All services TV,Internet, Home phone and Cell phone)
gordon1111 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 11:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 489
Same problem this past weekend. drove me nuts. reset everything an no luck. video would load 4-5 seconds worth and just sit there adding another few seconds each minute. Everything else worked fine.

Tried again now and it's better, but still cannot watch 720p videos without the video stopping every 3-4 seconds to buffer. (bolt plan, tv off)

netflix HD and other streaming services work fine.
Bunkhouse is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-28, 02:02 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Yes Bunkhouse, that's exactly my issue.
no123one is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-28, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Still having the issue today, very intermittent though, but generally not good.

On the flip side, I can easily and efficiently stream Vimeo HD (which is higher bandwidth than Youtube I believe). It's definitely a Youtube issue, just not sure why not everybody is affected.

I use multiple platforms, so it's not a cookie issue or anything, and reset my 2Wire and router, so it's not anything related to my IP address afaik (since that would change anyway).

I ran the Youtube speedtest and noticed it averaged about 4000 kbps, not bad, but not nearly what it should be (their graph shows that I used to be up around 11000 kbps a week or two ago), but it will often drop to MUCH lower levels as seen here.



I called MTS support and they didn't have any answers. They told me to try a different browser, hardwire connection, etc, but I've done all that (and tried my iTouch) and only Youtube is affected.
no123one is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
I notice if the Youtube video has a commercial first, the commercial loads perfectly, fast as it should. But the following video is still slow. LOL.
no123one is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 05:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 36
I'm on Bolt and have been having the same issue with Youtube. Tried changing to Google Public DNS, but that didn't make a difference. Not sure what else to try!
jmorgan is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 06:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Winnipeg mb
Posts: 221
Its just not MTS customers having problems.

I just did a Google search on this question and there are complaints coming from all over about YouTube and viewing performance issues.

If you go to http://www.youtube.com/my_speed you can see the speed dips at different levels of access. As a whole there have been dips since the start of March.
mbhydro is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 06:46 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,103
Sorry for not giving my input earlier, but it is suspected this has something to do with the way Youtube delivers pre-video ads. This has been an issue for over a month.
Mozza is online now  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Ok, I feel a bit better, but Youtube better get their act together. On the speed test graph, mine dropped WAY down in the past month, from about 11 Mbps to about 2 Mbps.
no123one is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-04-03, 09:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
I have the same issue right now, I'm on lightning max and my speedtest score is 14.4mbit, normally I can watch 1080p no problem but now I can't even watch 360p on my ipad or computer, it has been like this on and off for two weeks. I am getting very pissed and I hope they sort this out. All other sites work fine.
bman77 is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-04-04, 12:10 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 728
Thumbs down

I rarely use my iMac anymore, so I usually only access YouTube mobile. I have noticed that it is definitely slower. I have pair bonding equipment at my house, and wasn't sure if It was the issue, so i rebooted my wireless "puck" as MTS calls it (2Wire i38hg wireless router, fed via hpna over twister pair from the 3812 gateway.). Didn't seem to make a difference.
Macman is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 2012-04-06, 10:53 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 72
I have started having the problem too. The speed test page shows my black line dropping down to the bottom over the last few days.
sctb1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome