HD quality - Page 13 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #181 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-01-10, 08:24 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 101
I wonder how much quality loss the crAPtiontech router may be responsible for???? Has anyone with issues tried the ASUS RT N56U replacement. Apparently it seriously improves IPTV performance.
anav_ds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-01-10, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,083
Improves performance, but not picture quality.
habskilla is offline  
post #183 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-01-10, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Transprt- have you been able to get Dolby 5.1 sound to work? Regarding internet, my download speed is 31meg per second but uploads are only @ 19. Upload speeds are slightly faster when wired to the router rather than using a wireless connection.
underpar is offline  
post #184 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-01-10, 08:30 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverview, NB
Posts: 909
As habskilla mentioned the Asus can move data around faster and more efficiently but it can't make the data any better.
file is online now  
post #185 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-01-10, 08:42 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 425
i actually like the actiontec router. it has been the most stable one i had and i have had and i have been using all the brands over the years.

and it doesn't matter how good the data is. you could have 1000m/sec connection but its up to aliant to make use off all that bandwidth which they currently are not. we are stuck with the same IPTV bandwidth they have been using with its DSL customers
McPatrick is offline  
post #186 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-26, 09:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 36
What is the latest on SD and HD picture quality? Is it comparable to cable or satellite or are there still quality issues because of the bandwidth used? Thinking of getting this service installed soon. Thanks for your advice.
rfin16 is offline  
post #187 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-27, 06:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Maryland, NB
Posts: 308
IMO the HD quality is comparable to rogers cable, but I think Bell satellite still has better HD quality. sd is sd and i don't notice any difference between the three
FuzzFace is offline  
post #188 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-28, 08:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
I agree that the HD picture of Bell Satellite is better than Fibre. The PVR is also faster as is channel switching. Fibre (in NS) is still not being brodcast in Dolby 5.1 so if sound is important to you, I'd avoid Aliant Fibre for a while yet.
underpar is offline  
post #189 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-28, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,083
I purchased a new Samsung UN46D6500 T.V. on the weekend. The HD quality is MUCH better now than with my old 42" Toshiba plasma. The quality I see now, is much better than satellite every was.

As for channel changing, the RT-N56U runs circles around any other digital service out there. It's almost as fast as analog cable channel changing. The RT-N56U brings back true channel surfing again.

But, Bell TV (satellite) PVR is still miles ahead of our PVR. Not complaining, just stating my opinion.
habskilla is offline  
post #190 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-28, 04:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Underpar

Did you check 5.1 lately? before you do, make sure your setting for audio digital output on your receiver is optioned for surround sound and not stereo.
Greenbay is offline  
post #191 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 591
What does Fibreop transmitt in, 720p or 1080i or 1080p ?? Thank you.

Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now  
post #192 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-29, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 137
based on the bandwidth requirement (and factoring in compression), I'd go with 720p, but they may bump it up with the soon to be added support for HDMI
sgu222e is offline  
post #193 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-30, 09:09 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 591
Well their twitter feed told me that they receive their content in both 720p and 1080i, but they did not tell me if they use both formats on their broadcast, or if they convert them all to one format and then send it out. So some of them may actually be on 1080i.

Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now  
post #194 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-30, 09:30 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 50
probably related to

FAQ - HDTV Formats
doscott is offline  
post #195 of 198 (permalink) Old 2012-03-30, 09:45 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 591
Thank you. Interesting post.

Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome