Need info to connect the pvr to my PC - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-08, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 91
Need info to connect the pvr to my PC

I have a 23" monitor with my pc, is there any USB adaptor to connect my PVR to my PC USB so I can watch tv.

I don't want to get a second tv but would like to watch some tv on the monitor. Can some of these adaptors display HD. Please let me know if there are any and what it may cost. thanks
frankmar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-08, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 201
What model monitor do you have on your PC?

I know the monitor I have has a VGA, DVI and HDMI input. With this, I can use a standard HDMI cable. If you don't have an HDMI equipped monitor, but has DVI, you MAY be able to get an HDMI to DVI adapter. I say MAY because depending on the type of DVI connector, they don't all accept a digital signal - some DVI ports are analog only.

HTH

Panasonic TC32LX60 | Denon AVR890 | Klipsch RB-61 / RC-10 / RW-10D | Motorola VIP 1232 (Bell Fibe)
secotton is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-09, 09:34 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 8,191
The only way you can connect your PVR directly to your PC is if you have a TV tuner in your PC. A standard NTSC tuner will give you SD quality. You will need to connect a Hauppauge HD PVR to the component outputs if you want HD quality.

You can connect an HDCP-compliant monitor as secotton said. If you don't have an AVR for audio, you can connect a pair of PC speakers to the RCA outputs on the PVR using an "RCA to mini-plug" cable.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-09, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 91
I have an LG Monitor, with 3 entries, my pc video card is connected to the Monitor via DVI cable and MY HDMI entry is free. So I can connect the output of the Bell box Hdmi to the monitor hDMI directly. thanks
frankmar is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-14, 03:38 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 113
I've connect HDMI out to my Panasonic HDMI in port. It will should work but you would still need to somehow get the sound to your speakers. Sound is also on the HDMI.
smlunatick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome