Thinking Fibe, Questions.. - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-16, 09:08 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 19
Thanks Dr. Dave. I signed up to hear when it's available in my area. I move into my place in November, I won't hold my breath though.
Ericpl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-16, 09:16 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 254
Currently you can get an extra 40Gb capacity for $5/month extra for a total of 65Gb/month on their Fibe6 plan that is mandatory with the FibeTV. Just signed up on the weekend - there was a bell free ice cream truck on the beach boardwalk the week before run by the bell Fibe marketing guys (not the retail stores) and they offered the same deals but with free installation that the retail stores couldn't match.

Still have to receive application confirmation and an install date, I will post my experiences here when I get it.

Panasonic PT-AE2000U|Elite Cinetension2 100"|Yamaha RX-V3900|PS3|Paradigm Monitor 7|Bose AM-10s|Polk PSW350
wm_cheng is offline  
post #33 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-16, 10:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 588
I was Watching a movie i ordered on VOD ( HD stream) and i was also recording Cake boss on TLC HD. I went over to the pc and watching 1 HD stream 1 SD stream and recording another HD stream heres my internet bandwidth...

[IMG][/IMG]

Not bad
Boavista is offline  
post #34 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-16, 10:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Rogers 8300HD,Sony KDE42XBR950,
Posts: 1,089
Thanks. This is a lot faster than my Rogers Express which can only do .5 mps up and somewhere around 7 mps down. I'll have to look into fibe.

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
post #35 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-26, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by wm_cheng View Post
Currently you can get an extra 40Gb capacity for $5/month extra for a total of 65Gb/month on their Fibe6 plan that is mandatory with the FibeTV.
You can get up to 4 extra packages of the 40GB per 5$. I currently have 2 for a total of 105GB allowance.


Sigh, I remember when internet usage was unlimited. Still is in the US
Fry1989 is offline  
post #36 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-08-26, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 588
so far so good. No complaints with the service. Called today to pick my programming ( have until sept.11). To my surprise i actually received an email from someone higher up at bell fibe tv explaining to me about the situation with the Portuguese Channel FPTV that they advertise but don't have yet. she explained to me in an email that their just working out the legalities of their agreement and the channel will launch on bell on either September 15 or 16. pretty cool to actually get an answer from bell on something for once!
Boavista is offline  
post #37 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-09-10, 07:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
I believe the 25 gig limit is an Ontario thing. Based on the website. Can anyone confirm the cap in Quebec as 60 gigs?
plisvb is offline  
post #38 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-09-10, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 165
In Quebec, Fibe TV is bundled with Fibe 7 and comes with a 60gb cap.

Panasonic 50GT30 | Yamaha HTR-6063 | Energy Take Classic 5.1 | Oppo BDP-93 | Illico - 8642HD
joepro is offline  
post #39 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 10:35 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 123
Fibe TV beyond Toronto and Montreal?

I've been a Bell TV/Expressvu subscriber for years...but Fibe TV looks very interesting...I especially like the option of accessing the same PVR recordings from multiple digital receivers in different rooms (I currently can do this with a second TV using my old 9200, but would love the flexibility FibeTV would offer).

So, obviously FibeTV is focussed right now on the big Bell markets of Toronto and Montreal...and others here have posted good information of expansion plans within those markets into 2011. Any sense of when they'll start to roll out FibeTV elsewhere?

I live in Ottawa, so that's certainly my first concern...anyone know if there's a chance they'll start an Ottawa rollout by fall 2011? What about other markets, such as Hamilton, London, Quebec City...I'm sure others here might be interested?
noelk is offline  
post #40 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 10:52 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Bell said 5 million homes in next four years but gave no roll-out plans.
hugh is offline  
post #41 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-10-08, 12:24 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 588
Well a few updates on my experiences. Internet is still great. on the tv side Still No FPTV ( portuguese) as well as no HDNet, and today i learned Sportsnet1 was added to bell tv.. however not to fibe tv.

Really upsetting. seams everytime i change services ( Cable, to Expressvu, to fibe) i always get to the provider when they get into the groove of NOT adding new channels. Great..

Also i changed my pvr from Coax to Cat5 and i notice none of the other units can see the pvr anymore.. I tried resetting the pvr but it changed nothing. Found that odd.
Boavista is offline  
post #42 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-10-08, 08:12 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 107
@Boavista you know that the Portuguese Chanel is a free to air Chanel right , i would love to know from the CRTC the legal side of this . About the internet bandwidth even in europe the amount of downloading is higher than Canada and the services are cheaper , Canada i don't know it looks like its a gold mine when it comes to internet/TV/cell phone services . Anyway i`m getting the change from bell tv to FIBE today so i will see how it goes .
Almadacr is offline  
post #43 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-10-08, 09:03 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 254
When my installer was over, they said to not mix Coax with Ethernet, they ran new Coax because I had some Coax already instead of mixing the wiring.

Panasonic PT-AE2000U|Elite Cinetension2 100"|Yamaha RX-V3900|PS3|Paradigm Monitor 7|Bose AM-10s|Polk PSW350
wm_cheng is offline  
post #44 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-10-08, 09:48 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 8,191
@wm_cheng. I'm not sure about Bell, but other telcos routinely mix Coax and Cat5. With MTS, the standard installation is Cat5 to the PVR and coax to all the other STBs.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #45 of 826 (permalink) Old 2010-10-08, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto - Bell Fibe TV
Posts: 588
@Almadacr- RTPi is the channel thats available via FTA. That channel as well as the brazilian channel is already available on fibe tv as i get both of them via fibe tv. The problem is they advertise FpTV witch is a toronto local portuguese channel but they dont carry the darn channel yet. Talk about false advertising.
Boavista is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell , ethernet , fibe , install , internet , modem , wiring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome