Accessing PVR contents remotely - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-06-25, 02:52 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Accessing PVR contents remotely

Hi

Just had a query, does anybody know of a way to connect to the PVR remotely, Mac or PC so that you can access the recordings from a machine on the network. Should be possible I would imagine, at the end of the day the PVR recordings are just mpg files or a like.

Is there a way you can connect, don't know much about the XBOX 360, but that seems to be able to access the content from the main PVR box.

Just would be nice to watch stuff I've recorded on my computer in the study.

Thanks for any responses!
pookieman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-06-25, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TELUS tech in the Fraser Valley, B.C.
Posts: 548
Short answer is no.

Heres a longer version.

The PVR employs very good encryption and additionally uses a communication with the TELUS OptikTV Headend to verify authorisation to play any recorded material from the PVR's HDD. The PVR infact will not play if there is no link to the internet for this reason. Of course being IP based none of the OptikTV will function if the internet is out.

Even if you took the HDD out of your PVR and placed it in another 430 it wouldn't play, because the headend would detect that it's in the wrong 430. This is why techs can't swap HDD in PVRs to keep your programs if your PVR fails (its ususally the HDD anyway). Likewise you can't take your 430 over to a friends house who has Optik and plug it in, it won't work there because its not authourised on that circuit. Trying to read the HDD on a PC (or Mac) is pointless due to the encryption. There is no work around. Microsoft is very particular about DRM.

- another TELUS tech
Wiremonkey is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-10, 11:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks for the easy to understand answer, Wiremonkey.

Follow-up questions.
1. Would a second Telus box allow me to watch PVR contents at an other location in the house? If yes, what limitations exist?
2. Again if yes, what would I need to do to connect the 'dumb' Telus box to my PC (which has an awesome sound system and huge monitor) so I don't need to buy another TV?

Thanks for your help.
DA29
da29 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-11, 12:39 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 105
1. Would a second Telus box allow me to watch PVR contents at an other location in the house? If yes, what limitations exist?

A: Yes, as long as it is connected to the Telus modem by either coax or Ethernet.

2. Again if yes, what would I need to do to connect the 'dumb' Telus box to my PC (which has an awesome sound system and huge monitor) so I don't need to buy another TV?

A: The Telus STB has an array of outputs you can use depending on what input your computer can accept. These are HDMI, Component, S-video, Composite, and Coax. It has optical output for sound too.
macdzich is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-11, 03:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,767
Isn't remote viewing potentially an upgrade we may see? I seem to remember someone saying that the functionality is there with Mediaroom, Telus would just have to activate it.

If I could play PVR'd shows on my iPhone on the way to work, I'd be one very happy camper.
PrimeBane is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-14, 09:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeBane View Post
If I could play PVR'd shows on my iPhone on the way to work, I'd be one very happy camper.
I can see Microsoft doing that on Windows phones. It would happen there well before the iPhone... if ever.
MarcP is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-17, 03:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 34
My g/f keeps deleting a program on the history of guitars that I want to keep.

So I ran a coax cable from the pvr to my PC's t.v. input (pci t.v. card). It will record whatever is playing on the t.v. but in 4:3 only. It can be HD but it records 4:3.

So that's one way to get it to the PC.

I'm not sure if the 4:3 is the fault of the t.v. card or the coax - and it's the only input I can choose.
Password is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-07-19, 10:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Password View Post
My g/f keeps deleting a program on the history of guitars that I want to keep.

So I ran a coax cable from the pvr to my PC's t.v. input (pci t.v. card). It will record whatever is playing on the t.v. but in 4:3 only. It can be HD but it records 4:3.

So that's one way to get it to the PC.

I'm not sure if the 4:3 is the fault of the t.v. card or the coax - and it's the only input I can choose.
Video over coax will only be in SD 4:3. If you have the STB outputting HD over component or HDMI, and also outputting over coax it will be a cropped SD image.
shoota is offline  
Reply

Tags
optik , pvr , remote access

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome