building a narrow band GH (targeting 536mhz) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-07-16, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Question building a narrow band GH (targeting 536mhz)

I would like to build a narrow band Hoverman to focus on 536 mhz. I plan on building it based on the design on JED’s website, but I have a few questions about the design. Hoverman HDTV UHF antenna

If I am reading the section on narrow band design correctly, a 10 1/8” square zig zag should be my starting point? If I scale the feed gap the 1.0727611 (575/536), then the gap is slightly over 6” wide.

I’m a novice antenna builder. Is there a point of dimensioning returns in feed gap spacing? Can I get too wide?

It looks like the screen on the scaled design is roughly 5” back. Is there a point where a simple screen reflector is too far behind the elements?

I see on JED’s website that there was a GH10rev0 in which he used to compare the frequency range to the newer wider band GH’s. Was this simply a 10” square zig zag? Does anyone still have a link to that one?

Thank you,
wbm
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-07-17, 03:12 AM
Veteran

Dimensions for JED's GH6-574MHz "Narrowband" Antenna [Tuned for 575 MHz = Ch31] are found here:
Hoverman HDTV UHF antenna

As described by JED, nearly ANY Antenna can be RESCALED for Operation in another Band by changing ALL of the Dimensions [incl. Wire Size] by:
Rescale Factor = F = Current Design Frequency / New Design Frequency

Hence F = 575/536 = 1.07276 [All Dimensions are LARGER....as you calculated above]
So JED's a = 9-7/16 inches would be Rescaled to 10-1/4 inches.
BTW: The Zig-Zag Angles are NOT "square".

Since the difference is small, the SAME Wire Size can be used with negligible change to Gain and SWR.