cascading SW44 switch for 5+ tuners - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-16, 07:20 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
This is getting off topic...............

But, yes, to some extent. Personally, I expect them to be sales people, not technical, but as I said, if they don't know, they should not guess or make stuff up. They should refer the customer to someone that actually knows.
dosborne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 03:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
approved switches

I have two bell receivers and want to add two more but have 6 outlets. I read in the forum that I can use two 4 x 4 switches and two 44 switches for a reliable connection.

Do the switches have to be Dish or can I use a brand such as the Microyal for the 44 and other brands for the 4 X 4

I called a retailer today and he told me that I had to use Two Dish 44as and two 44 switches with bell receivers. Not sure if he is telling the truth or trying to up sell.
jimmy1 is offline  
post #123 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 03:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Bell use VideoPath SW44's and Eagle aspen for 4 way and 8 way single sat switch's.

I have used Microroyals in the past and they work just fine.

SW44a's are not approved or officially supported by Bell but again, work fine.

Quote:
I read in the forum that I can use two 4 x 4 switches and two 44 switches for a reliable connection.
I think you mean 2 x 4 way switch's and 2 x SW44's.
Pinza is offline  
post #124 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
It's cheaper to use four 2 way splitters (dish style with DC blocking on 1 leg/DC pass on the other) and two SW44s. One SW44a and one SW44 is also cost effective unless the SW44s are surplus/cheap or on hand. Other brands are Ok, as long as they are Dish/Bell compatible. Diseqc, Shaw, DirecTV, etc switches will not work with Bell receivers.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #125 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 05:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Splitters MUST pass 2 Ghz or higher.
Pinza is offline  
post #126 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks guys I had a feeling the guy was just selling me more than I needed.

I will try this set-up as described in the forum using the method as described in the forum.
{unnecessary image removed}

I happen to have one eagle aspen 3 x 4 multi switch.
{unnecessary image removed}

I will get two Microyal SW44 Automatic Multi-Dish Switch
{unnecessary image removed}
Please lwt me know if i can improve on anything.

Last edited by dosborne; 2009-10-19 at 07:25 AM. Reason: Removed duplicate images and merged into proper thread
jimmy1 is offline  
post #127 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-10-21, 10:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Quote:
Sadly they just do not understand how to cable for more than 4 Tuners, at most Bell World & The Source Stores I come across.
Funny; even through sky dish, when i call in to activate a customer, I had a rep argue with me to install the power insterter on a multiswitch, And that the multiswitch that I installed was a sw-44.
manuelj43 is offline  
post #128 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-01, 10:22 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 50
Difference between Switches

What is the difference between a 44a and just a 44?
sctlenz is offline  
post #129 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-01, 10:29 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Firstly an SW44A is NOT an approved or officially supported Switch for use on Bell TV.

The SW44, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, and 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners.
The SW44A, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners and 4 outputs to feed an SW44, if required.
Pinza is offline  
post #130 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 12:01 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Is there such a thing as a SW22? I went to a bell store today and that's what he advised, but I haven't seen that switch mentioned here. Right now I have dual Lnb's connected to an SW44, and I'm running 2 pvr's, but I want to add a third PVR as well as 1 line for a non pvr box.
Quivox is offline  
post #131 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 09:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Never heard of an SW22. He probably meant SW21. SW21s will support, at most, two receivers. For 3 or more receivers, one or more SW44s are required. There are oddball configurations using SW24s combined with SW21s or commercial options but SW44s are the best solution for residential use.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #132 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 12:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-HD
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
Firstly an SW44A is NOT an approved or officially supported Switch for use on Bell TV.

The SW44, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, and 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners.
The SW44A, has 4 inputs from the LNBF's, 4 outputs to feed 4 Tuners and 4 outputs to feed an SW44, if required.
However I have an SW44a switch working in tandem with an SW44 switch...without any issues...to power the following receivers: 9242, 9200, 6100 and two 3100's.

On the other hand I did all the install work myself...and I'm no professional installer...

(Pinza...in fact I wish you were selling those switches on a board, two months ago...in fact I still almost bought #1...except shipping would probably be an issue).

All I'm saying is that it may not be officially supported by Bell-TV...but it does work.
dm_4u is offline  
post #133 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks for the answer! My set-up right now is 2 Lnb's connected to an SW44 switch, which are then run to 2 dual tuner receivers( 9242 and 9241) I want to add another 9241 as well as a 6141 and a 6100.

The satellite guy I talked to today said the best solution is to add 2 3X4 ZINWELL SAM - 3402's and another sw44.
which is similar to the 2nd option in this thread. Will this work? Are Zinwell products rated highly? He said he would supply the SW44, the 2 3x4 switches and the cabling for $200.00.
Quivox is offline  
post #134 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 11:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Thumbs down

Quote:
He said he would supply the SW44, the 2 3x4 switches and the cabling for $200.00.
That's a bit expensive. An SW44 is worth at most $100 new or about $35, including shipping, on eBay. (Forget what Bell charges, nobody else wants that much.) 4 Dish compatible splitters can be used for about $5 each or two off-brand SW24s can be used for $15 each. The cables can be purchased or made for about $2-$3 each. For $200, he should be installing it too.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #135 of 365 (permalink) Old 2009-11-10, 12:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quivox View Post
The satellite guy I talked to today said the best solution is to add 2 3X4 ZINWELL SAM - 3402's and another sw44.
On the other hand, wiring-wise, the simplest thing would be for you to just get a SW44A and put that in front of your existing SW44. Not "officially" Bell supported, but works well for many other users.

Last edited by dosborne; 2009-11-10 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Portions deleted. Please read the forum rules re buying/selling
rosenqui is offline  
Reply

Tags
cascade , cascading , sw44 , trunking

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome