Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-10-14, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1.

Edit by 57 - here's a link for the various LNBFs:

Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1.

92XX series installation:

92XX/94XX Installation 101 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums


Having read the topics of attaining satellite 82 after receiving satellite 91 the consensus seemed to be to find a strong signal on 91 then using your skew to find satellite 82. I have tried for five days between work (no luck). I have got 82 but lost 91 in the process. Anyway is there anyone who has been thru the same problems and how to attain Sat 91 and 82 at the same time. If so is it possible as a scenario to state something like yes we had Sat 91 then moved the Skew 14 degrees clockwise or something. I think this would be more informative than to just move your skew and hope you luck out.

Thanks,

EnC

Last edited by 57; 2014-11-23 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Added Link
EatnCoal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-10-15, 02:22 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 510
This is how I set up several satellites with no problems:

- Set up the skew angle to the desired setting (on the back of the dish, you should have two nuts that you can loosen and twist the dish to the skew angle setting indicated in your manual).
- Only use one LNB (91 degree) and ensure that you have it installed on the correct side of the y adapter.
- Tune into the 91 degree satellite (use transponder 11 for this) ... you should get very close to 100% strenght depending where you live.

Once the above is done, all you should have to do is install the second LNB and you should have the 82 bird. You may have to do a little fine tuning, but nothing major.

The most common error I have seen is thinking you are tuning into one satellite with the wrong LNB. By using only one LNB at a time and ensuring it is installed in the correct position, you should eliminate this potential problem.

I also strongly suggest marking each of your cables so that you know which cable is coming into your house from which LNB. You will need to know this when wiring your SW44.

I hope this helps. I have installed several systems this way and have never had any issues (unless there is an object in the way blocking the satellite signal). Good luck.

Kevin
kasbr likes this.
kandkt is offline  
post #3 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-10-15, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Hi Kevin;

I live in northern B.C (Tumbler Ridge), I don't know if that has anything to do with the signal. The best I can get seems to be 86 % for Sat 91. When I did get 82 the best I could get was 82%. Still I could not get both at the same time. Roghly how many degrees do you adjust your skew( yes I know the skew has two nots on each end). I will try again this A.M. we are expecting 10 cm of snow today I better hurry.

Thanks EnC
EatnCoal is offline  
 
post #4 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-10-15, 01:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 510
Quote:
Roghly how many degrees do you adjust your skew
Your skew adjustment should be set around 69 degrees. What I would strongly suggest is that you set the skew adjustment first, then using only the 91 degree LNB, find the satellite. If your skew is set properly, all you should have to do is install the 82 degree LNB and you should have both satellites. You may have to do some small adjustments, but both should be there.

Also, I would suggest that you set up the dish by connecting directly to the receiver and not through the switch yet. Make sure your receiver is set on transponder 11 when checking for a signal (I use transponder 11 for both satellites when setting up).

Living in Northern BC, you probably will not get 100% signal strength. Different transponders will give you different signal strenghts, as will different receivers. Just tune in transponder 11 to the highest you can get it and you should be fine. Once you have it set up, you can check different transponders and you should have some higher and some lower. As long as the lowest one isn't any lower than about 65-70%, you should be okay.

Good luck and let me know how you make out.


Kevin
kasbr likes this.
kandkt is offline  
post #5 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-03, 07:33 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
I have been talking to some people who say that in the Toronto area, adjusting skew is not really required.

The reason I bring this up is because I have a dish that does not skew. Because of this I either have to 1) upgrade my dish or 2) use another "trick" to establish signal from 82.

Are these sources accurate in saying I can get around this problem of a dish with no skew?
Riiioun is offline  
post #6 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-03, 07:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 305
First off in tumbler ridge it is better to go with 2 dishes then the single 20`, signal is just too weak there.

Riiioun it is the shape of a skewable dish that allows it to `see`two sats, if you have an 18 or 24inch dish it just won`t see both sats at the same time.
workforbell is offline  
post #7 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-04, 11:44 AM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riiioun View Post
I have been talking to some people who say that in the Toronto area, adjusting skew is not really required.
You will need to set the skew with a dual LNB dish to get the best signal. It will work without setting the skew but signals will be considerably weaker. The skew setting is small and not very sensitive near central Canada so "tweaking" for peak signal is not usually necessary.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #8 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-14, 10:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy Odd TP's not working on 91*... but they did

I installed the dish last week. It worked perfectly for 4 days. Has dual LNB with SW21 to a 6100 reciever.
Constantly fiddling and doing switch checks but still get this...

1 1 2 2
X 91 82 82
X + - +


All connections tight, no moisture. already tried unplugging reciever. Already tried removing smart card. ALL cords are RG6, and there is only 9ft of it.

I checked all the threads and tried all the suggestions but still nothing... PLEASE HELP! I BEGGETH YOU.
ticklemcgiggles is offline  
post #9 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 06:17 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
I had the same issue could not get the odds on one sat. All looked fine with the cables. I changed the connections at the dish tnen, had all transponders. Don't ask me why but, it made a difference.
Also, a friend had a problem in that he only had one sat. He changed lnbs he changed the switch. Ended up fine tuning the signal with a in-line sat finder and got both birds no problem. Since you only have 9 ft of RG6 to change, may want to try that. Even though all connections appear ok ?
probak118 is offline  
post #10 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 08:54 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 682
Power everything off and unplug all power sources. Wait for a few minutes and try again. If this doesn't work, try unplugging your satellite feed to your 6100 while it's on. Wait for a moment, then attached it once again. Wait for the connection to complete. Then do a check switch. Any luck? If this doesn't work and you didn't change anything, it could be your LMB (the one which isn't giving you the signal).

BEV 9242, 6131s | Samsung HL67A750 | Pioneer VSX-919AH-K | Cerwin Vega VE-15s, VE-5C, VE-5M
ltldevl is offline  
post #11 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
RG6 new.

There is no need to change the RG6 Cabling... it is ALL brand spanking new. The connections are all SOLID, I used a wrench to make sure (even with the connections to the LMB's - but to be sure, what do you mean by you "changed the connections at the dish"? - quote from probak118). I have yet to try unplugging the connection while the unit is on (suggestion from Itldevl - but it cannot be a bad TP because the EVEN transponders work perfectly fine), I will try that when i get home from work today at 5MT.

BUT there is one thing that we have been questioning... directly above (as in within 6 feet) my dish there is a flood light that lights a parking lot. I have not been able to try my TV while the light is off but is there some possible way that the light is affecting my reception?? Maybe the light is making the LMB tips not transparent enough for them to pick up a signal? I doubt that this is the issue but might as well ask. (and no, the light is not directly infront of my dish. It is above it.)

Last edited by ticklemcgiggles; 2006-12-15 at 03:15 PM.
ticklemcgiggles is offline  
post #12 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 05:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
I removed the connectors from the RG6 cable ends and installed new compression fitting type f connectors. If powering off and check switch etc... does not solve the problem. Do you know anyone who has the same type equipment. Switch the receiver then the lnb,switch etc...until the problem goes away. If it doesn't, is it a cable issue then ? Try to eliminate one piece at a time that may be the problem.
probak118 is offline  
post #13 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
What the crap is going on????

Ok, I am officially one of thee most confused guys on the face of the planet earth because out of the big blue nowhere it all started working again.
The unreliability of Technology is shining brightly in the face of me today.
ticklemcgiggles is offline  
post #14 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 07:10 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
aaaargh

ok, nvm, its not working again. I am getting PO'ed and thinking about getting Cable.
ticklemcgiggles is offline  
post #15 of 2230 (permalink) Old 2006-12-17, 08:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 226
Can you split the cable to 2 receivers?

ok, Ive searched the forums, and got confused.

I have 1 dish. 2 cables. 1 cable goes downstairs, one cable goes upstairs. THERE in the walls, since the basement and other walls have been redone, so no cable is shown.

What i need, is 2 receivers in the basement.

From what ive seen/read on the forums from searching, will a DPP Separator work for what i want? So i can control 2 different receivers, on different channels?

OR

What if i get a SW44, and just hook it up in the house with 1 cable going in, *NO HD used here*

So 1 cable from dish into switch, will it alow me to use 2 cables from the switch to control 2 receivers with 2 different channels?


Im sorry if this has been answered, but i search and didn't find a straight answer, i had seen a guy with 5 receivers he wanted to add, but couldn't find that post with searching

pls help. tnx
fuzzai is offline  
Reply

Tags
5900 , bell , bell 9242 , bell aliant , bell sat , dish , dpp , dual tuner , expressvu , hdpvr , satellite , satellite piracy , signal strength , sw44 , switch

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome