Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1. - Page 144 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2146 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-10, 01:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Help with adding receiver

Hello all,
I've just purchased a Bell 6141 HD receiver to add to the house. I currently have a 9241 PVR and a 6141. I've always been one to install things myself. A little picky about how cabling is run.
The latest install was done by a Bell installer (new house). He has installed a dish with two cables routed from the dish to a DPP44 multi-dish switch. Also installed is a DPP44 power inserter. The 9241 is hooked up to the multi-dish switch then to an SW21 at the receiver then to the two satellite inputs on the receiver. The power inserter is hooked up to the 6141.
The issue I'm having is I don't know where to hook up the second 6141. Can I split the signal after the power inserter to the second 6141? If so what kind of splitter?
The switching seems super outdated! I don't remember having this many peripheral devices to run three receivers.
HELP!!!
Fraze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2147 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-10, 08:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,219
You need to connect your new 6141 to one of the outputs on the DPP44. Since you only have two receivers, you should have two remaining outputs?

That SW21 at your 9241 is probably a DPP separator for dual tuners receivers.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL 9400 | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One S
scrooloose is offline  
post #2148 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-10, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
As above but just to add, there is no suitable splitter for the lines at all, if you want the receivers to function correctly.

A DPP Separator, which is what you have behind the 9241 cannot be used to feed two separate Single Tuner Receivers, if you were about to ask.....lol, it can only be used to feed a Dual Tuner Receiver, nothing else.

An alternate, if you want to remove the Power Supply/Injection is to swap the DPP Twin on the Dish for a DPP Quad, then run a separate line directly to each receiver, with the DPP Separator behind the Dual Tuner 9241 as it is now but with this you do not require any additional power, it is all supplied to the LNBF from the Receivers.
Allan B is offline  
 
post #2149 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-30, 10:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
pair transponder issue on 4100 receiver

Hi everyone, I have installed my old bell dish with 4100 SD receiver.

I got 100% signal on 91 nimiq 6 at transponder 11 and over 94% on other impair transponder.

I have absolutely no signal on all pair transponder.

my lnb look like this : http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MzYwWDUwMA==/z/pgAAAOxyOlhSsR57/$_3.JPG?set_id=2

thank for your help !!
jogtx16v is offline  
post #2150 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-31, 09:37 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 1,156
Please explain this

Quote:
over 94% on other impair transponder
I have absolutely no signal on all pair transponder.
It means nothing to me.
jdevlin is online now  
post #2151 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-31, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
So, you are getting good signals on ODD Transponders and nothing on Evens.

My guess is a splitter somewhere on the line.
Allan B is offline  
post #2152 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-31, 11:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdevlin View Post
Please explain this


It means nothing to me.
sorry for my traduction, im french getting very good signal on odd transpondeurs and nothing on evens, like ''Allan B'' said
jogtx16v is offline  
post #2153 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2016-12-31, 11:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan B View Post
So, you are getting good signals on ODD Transponders and nothing on Evens.

My guess is a splitter somewhere on the line.
Thank, I haven't see any splitter, I will check again to make sure.
jogtx16v is offline  
post #2154 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-01, 06:47 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
The Even Transponders use 18 Volts and it is pretty normal that a splitter can be the problem with the loss of Evens.

Another possibility is distance. If you are 100' away from the LNBF, then again, the 18 volts might loose too much, causing you to only get 13 volts, for the Odds.

Of course, it is always possible it could be a bad 4100 or LNBF.

Did you run a Check Switch? If the 4100 had been on a DPP System, that might also be the issue.

Good luck.
Allan B is offline  
post #2155 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-01, 01:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
runned check switch 2 time.

do I need to run sw21 ? or can be the wrong lnbf for my dish ?

my lnbf look like this https://www.amazon.ca/DSS-DUAL-SATEL...2GNSJ3Y5KSTXHH

thank !
jogtx16v is offline  
post #2156 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-01, 03:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
LNBF is correct.

If you are only wanting Standard Def Channels and no Ethnic Channels, you do not need an SW21. The SW21 is for linking 2 x LNBF's together that are looking at 2 Sats.

You should be just looking at 91.

Run a Check Switch with NO cable connected.
When it fails, save the result.
Connect cable again.
Run another Check Switch.
Allan B is offline  
post #2157 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-11, 09:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
New Bell9400 installation

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum. I recently purchased a Bell 9400 receiver/PVR to upgrade from my Bell 9100.
I will need to hook this up myself as I live in an area that is not covered by Bell technicians.
My current configuration is that I have two Bell single LNB dishes mounted and a single cable running to the Bell9100.

What I need to know is can I use this current configuration to run the Bell 9400 or do I need to purchase a duel LNB dish.

If I can install the new Bell 9400 receiver with two single LNB dishes I need to know how this is connected.

The answer may be already posted in the forum information somewhere, however I cannot locate it. If someone can assist or direct me to the thread that has the information I would greatly appreciate it.

Shannon
Shannon8329 is offline  
post #2158 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-11, 09:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 1,156
The 9400 is dual tuner unit. I don't believe there is such a thing a 9100. Check the model again.
Your best option for the 9400 is a DPP dish and a separator at the unit to divide the line for the two tuners.
jdevlin is online now  
post #2159 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-11, 11:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks for your response - since the Bell 9400 is a dual input receiver and I have two single LNB satellite dishes could I not run a cable from each of the dishes and hook them up to the input on the 9400
Shannon8329 is offline  
post #2160 of 2223 (permalink) Old 2017-01-12, 01:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 532
Can you clarify that you have 2 separate Dish's one for 91 & one for 82 ?
One line from each LNBF feeding an SW21, then one line to the old receiver ?
So we don't advise incorrectly, a picture would be helpful of the Dish's.

If the above is correct and guessing that neither the Dish's can get BOTH 91 & 82 then you need to upgrade the LNBF's and obtain a DPP Switch and a DPP Separator.

Swap out the Legacy LNBF on each Dish with a DP Dual LNBF (NOT a TWIN or QUAD).
Run a line from each LNBF to a DPP44 Switch, mounted out of the weather if at all possible.
Run line from Port 1 of the DPP44 to the house.
On that line attach the Power Inserter that comes with the Switch.
From Power Inserter run line to rear of 9400.
Connect DPP Seperator to this line and the two tails to the Inputs of the 9400.
Run Check Switch
Allan B is offline  
Reply

Tags
5900 , bell , bell 9242 , bell aliant , bell sat , dish , dpp , dual tuner , expressvu , hdpvr , satellite , satellite piracy , signal strength , sw44 , switch

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome