92XX/94XX Installation 101 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 05:08 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oakville
Posts: 141
I currently have 4 receivers connected to a SW44: 2 3100's , 1 5900 and 1 6000.The 5900 and 6000 are connected to the same TV [the 9200 would replace these two]. What are my options for being able to add more receivers to my setup. I seem to recall that there is a new switch that can work in tandem of a SW44 that can be daisy chained.
WojtekZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Joe, my understanding is that the 2 ports that are together are the ones used for us Bell people as outputs. The one that stands alone is the input for the other LNB.

WojtekZ, I have seen examples of daisy chaining as well. However I'm not familiar with exactly how it works so I'll let somebody else comment.

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #18 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 05:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 95
Hi Ken0042, great stuff. I have a ? for you, Can I use a Legacy Quad lnb or it has to be a DishPro Quad? Thanks in advance.
rwings01 is offline  
post #19 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 07:05 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Neither rwings01. It needs to be a dish pro plus.

Now........where to find the Dpp lnb and separtor. ebay has only 1 auction running right now.

Any other dish retailers? Preferably in Canada,

Thanks

Joe
Q is offline  
post #20 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by WojtekZ
I seem to recall that there is a new switch that can work in tandem of a SW44 that can be daisy chained.
http://www.canadian-tv.com/forums/sh...7&fpart=2&vc=1

third post down

SW44a stackable switch
Arthur is offline  
post #21 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-26, 07:37 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Barrie
Posts: 202
Here is a picture when using two SW-44a and SW-44. Most people will only need one SW-44a. You only need the Launch Amplifier if you use two SW-44s. If you are using one Sw-44a have the SW-44a connected to the SW-44.



Also, when one uses the Dish Pro Plus 44 (DPP-44) switch the LNB that is used doesnt have to be the Dish Pro Plus LNB. You can use a Dish Pro Twin or Quad.
Legacy LNBs will not work, when using the DPP-44 switch.

Finding these through Canadian retailers will be almost impossible as i belive these are only available to authorized Dish retailers. I could be wrong though.

Brad

Last edited by hugh; 2007-11-14 at 01:25 PM.
bclaringbold is offline  
post #22 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 12:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver Area
Posts: 251
How important is the Launch Amplifier

Potentially I may need to get into a two SW44A and one SW44 situation

How important is the Launch Amplifier at the level of two SW44A's
THe link below gives the impression it wont be needed with (just!) two SW44a's


http://www.microyal.com/dishnet.html

Anyone any actual experience with this option?
Jeffnoone is offline  
post #23 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 09:43 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 33
Legacy or Pro Plus Quad LNB

Ken,
This is a great FQA.

I have a question as I have seen different answers.
I have 2 older (3/4xxx series receivers) and 6200 series. I will most likely replace the 6200 to the 9200 PVR. I have not yest installed the SW44 switch. I have been thinking about replacing the the 2 Dual LNBS to a Quad. In fact, I just purchased a Legacy Quad from eBay last week.

I have seen on different threads that the Legacy is suppose to work with the older equipment and newer ones. Is this true or do I need to purchase a PP Quad LNB?

Thanks.
BD_Present is offline  
post #24 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 11:58 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 128
Good work Ken. The Dishpro+ solution is probably the best for a 2 cable run setup but I would be a bit concerned about the Evu firmware support. It will be interesting to see if the 9200 can handle the new hardware "out of the box" or whether a future firmware upgrade will be required.
Just hoping for the best...
klystron is offline  
post #25 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
BD- the legacy hardware will work fine with the newer receivers as well as the older ones. Just to summarize:

Legacy- works will all recivers; Dish Pro and Lecacy- allows 100 foot cable runs
Dish Pro- works only with Dish Pro receivers- allows 200 foot cable runs
Dish Pro Plus- works with legacy as long as there is also a Dish Pro receiver in the mix- allows for 200 foot cable runs and allows for seperators.

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #26 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 12:11 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by klystron
....but I would be a bit concerned about the Evu firmware support. It will be interesting to see if the 9200 can handle the new hardware "out of the box" or whether a future firmware upgrade will be required.
Just hoping for the best...

I am wondering the same. Can anyone confirm if the DPP works on the 5200?
Q is offline  
post #27 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 12:31 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,129
Well DP technology works with my 6100, 5900 and later this week I will tell you how the 3100 handles it, also hopefully early next month I will tell you how the 9200 handles it and the DPP Separator . FYI I have a DPP-Twin LNB and the DPP44 switch hooked up and the DPP separator waiting in my desk!

Alt
Altaman is offline  
post #28 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 12:40 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altaman
FYI I have a DPP-Twin LNB and the DPP44 switch hooked up and the DPP separator waiting in my desk!

Alt
You have any good places who ship to canada via canada post?
Q is offline  
post #29 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altaman
Well DP technology works with my 6100, 5900 and later this week I will tell you how the 3100 handles it
I assume you meant to say DPP, right?

(Don't you just love how they couldn't come up with a different sounding name?)

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #30 of 1926 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 01:30 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoe
You have any good places who ship to canada via canada post?
Well I ordered my Dpp-Twin and DPP separator from www.dishstore.net and they shipped via Canada Post. You have to put a comment in your order to ship via the post office. I believe there was a couple $ extra charge to do this though. The DPP-Twin is $29.99 USD and the DPP separator is 9.99 USD.

I bought DPP44 switch off Ebay and I believe I paid under $100 USD, they sell at the above mentioned site for $178 USD.

Alt
Altaman is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200 , 9242 , belltv , dpp33 , dpp44 , expressvu , installation , sw44

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome