How to properly align your satellite dish - Discussion and Tips - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 9Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-09, 11:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Ok now the reception error is gone. Now Check Switch says reception verified, but I have 82 - OK and then 2 X's.

That's a dish thing right? Because I don't have 91 on my signal?

I don't think it's wiring. I don't know why I'm having a tough time finding 91. 82 is simple. I moved it a tad to the right.

I've set up 6 receivers before and a SW44 myself, so I don't consider myself a total noob. Now I'm having problems with just one haha. I'll keep trying.

It's basically saying Port 1a and 1 b are missing. Seems like a wiring problem to me. I have 100% green for 82 and 100% red for 91 right now.

Last edited by Terwillegar_Guy; 2008-10-09 at 11:29 AM.
Terwillegar_Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-09, 06:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Are you sure you are getting 82 degrees on the 82 LNBF.?
Pinza is offline  
post #153 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-10, 03:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
I got 91 and 82 working for half a day. 91 was about 55% though and 82 went down to 72%. 82 is always perfect.
Terwillegar_Guy is offline  
 
post #154 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-10, 09:56 AM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
do you have your skew and elevation correct?
Q is offline  
post #155 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-10, 11:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
I think my elevation is set wrong. I had an installer set my angles. I'll check them in a while and post them on here. I'm in Edmonton. I seen the numbers in the manual. Looks like the elevation is just under 28 degrees. The skew is at just under 74 degrees. This is what I got from looking at my dish (It's on a tripod outside my deck and it's high enough that it's set higher than my railings).
Terwillegar_Guy is offline  
post #156 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-10, 09:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Try going directly from the LNBF's to a receiver to verify that the cable you THINK is 82, actually IS 82. Do this for all 4 lines.
Pinza is offline  
post #157 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-10-11, 12:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Everything looks good as of now. Basically, my tripod is not stable. I put some weights on it and tied it to my railings outside on my deck.

I got 75% on 91 and 95% on 82. That's good enough for me :-)
Terwillegar_Guy is offline  
post #158 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 07:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Finding sat 82 on 6141

We have just spent all day trying to get our HD signal back
We had HD in the summer, but lost it today. We have cut the top off a tree we think may have been in the way. No fix

6141 Receiver, SW21 switch, 90% reception on Sat 91 (transponder 11)

I have read every post in this thread and tried every thing we can think of, multiple check switches, unplugged the 9141 to reboot, still cannot find 82

Can anyone suggest a step by step method to find 82 ?
walldad is offline  
post #159 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by walldad View Post
We have just spent all day trying to get our HD signal back
We had HD in the summer, but lost it today. We have cut the top off a tree we think may have been in the way. No fix

6141 Receiver, SW21 switch, 90% reception on Sat 91 (transponder 11)

I have read every post in this thread and tried every thing we can think of, multiple check switches, unplugged the 9141 to reboot, still cannot find 82

Can anyone suggest a step by step method to find 82 ?
how many receivers do you have at home?
superagent is offline  
post #160 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
We are at the cottage, 4100 SD receiver, direct connected to 91 LNB. No problems at all
9141 HD connected to 91 LNB and 82 LNB with SW21 (No problems on 91)
Just can't get 82.
We have tried everything we can think of based on this thread

It worked before
walldad is offline  
post #161 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by walldad View Post
We are at the cottage, 4100 SD receiver, direct connected to 91 LNB. No problems at all
9141 HD connected to 91 LNB and 82 LNB with SW21 (No problems on 91)
Just can't get 82.
We have tried everything we can think of based on this thread

It worked before
check the cabling going to the lnbf.

Last edited by superagent; 2008-11-22 at 08:40 PM. Reason: give me a sec please... stand by for my reply before going in the cold. lol
superagent is offline  
post #162 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 08:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by walldad View Post
We are at the cottage, 4100 SD receiver, direct connected to 91 LNB. No problems at all
9141 HD connected to 91 LNB and 82 LNB with SW21 (No problems on 91)
Just can't get 82.
We have tried everything we can think of based on this thread

It worked before
are you on a rental or purchase? I hope on rental....

I think you lost your skue with 82. this can happen with strong wind that will move very slightly the dish. a tech will realign it...

in order to have the tech you need to call.. remember if you are on purchase the tech`s visit will cost you 75$ (if you did not have any offers recently they may be able to refund you that amount.. it depends on your account) .. since you will be calling, go again through all the troubleshoot with them to be sure.. they will make you do all the checkswitch all over again.... a trick i did and it worked sometimes, is to performe a checkswitch several time (max 4) and press view tv from the remote.. the tech may have you move the receiver to another location if permitted to find out if it is the receiver the prob or not... many questions needs to be asked in here to isolate the issue..

hope this helps.


post the outcome

Last edited by superagent; 2008-11-22 at 09:01 PM. Reason: updates
superagent is offline  
post #163 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 08:52 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Own the receiver, Cabling is fine from switch to 6141
We changed the switch
91 is best we have ever had (91%)
I am thinking a receiver issue ?
walldad is offline  
post #164 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 09:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by walldad View Post
Own the receiver, Cabling is fine from switch to 6141
We changed the switch
91 is best we have ever had (91%)
I am thinking a receiver issue ?
i dont think a receiver issue, otherwise you will not be able to get 91 either.
superagent is offline  
post #165 of 1248 (permalink) Old 2008-11-22, 09:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Ok, if not the receiver, then what ?

We had HD (sat 82/91) at the same location 2months ago

We have spent all day cutting trees, running checkswitch, rebooting receiver, changing the SW21, repointing dish, nothing works

The SAT 91 signal is better than ever
walldad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome