Sens @ Leafs NOT BLACKED OUT on Sportsnet Ontario... - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 338
Sens @ Leafs NOT BLACKED OUT on Sportsnet Ontario...

Don't know if this is the case for everyone outside of the Leafs region, but on Telus TV in Edmonton the Sens/Leafs is NOT blacked out on Sportsnet Ontario. Right now I am watching on the SD channel since Telus was supposed to give me Ontario/Pacific HD yesterday but they didn't...(havent had much luck with their CS ever since I signed up last week). I will update on the HD feed as soon as it's available to me.

Is the game blacked out for anyone else?
WetCardboard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 682
Not blacked out on Rogers in NB either.

The Centre Ice channel where it should be isn't airing anything.
kirjtc2 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 338
Man I am not happy with Telus so far...apparently it takes a MIN of 2-24hrs for a channel addition to show up on my end. With Shaw it was instant in most cases...I guess I'm watching this one in SD tonight, which is better than nothing. However the sound is brutally quiet, my AVR is cranked and I can still barely hear anything...(problem with all SD channels on Telus TV), I'll have to remember not to switch to an hd channel or else I'll blow my speakers/go deaf or both.
WetCardboard is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,896
Airing on free preview on Center Ice channel 1453 on Bell. Blacked out on SNH-O channel 1405.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 338
I knew Centre Ice showed pre-season...it's just Shaw and Telus who don't want to waste the bandwidth and please their customers.
WetCardboard is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:36 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
What do we have to do to get the game blacked out?
james99 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 45
thanks for the posts........got it here in Ottawa. The feed is slightly better then the feed was from Russia for the 1972 summit series. Hope this isn't another year of watching the Leafs in SD even though my cable provider (Rogers) is broadcasting in HD
shawnq is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 09:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by WetCardboard View Post
I knew Centre Ice showed pre-season...it's just Shaw and Telus who don't want to waste the bandwidth and please their customers.
There's no waste of Bandwidth. On Bell, it is the same feed but remapped to one of the CI channels with different restrictions. I guess it's easier for Bell to do that with their equipment than enable the regional sportsnet feeds to everyone in the Leafs area plus CI subscribers. Why would customers be un-pleased? The content is available in the same location as all the other CI games.
tofinoguy is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 09:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond Hill ON/NY NY
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by james99 View Post
What do we have to do to get the game blacked out?
Well, cancel Cogeco, move to Edmonton and sign up for Telus. Then call and complain.
Doug30 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 09:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
What do we have to do to get the game blacked out?
Just shut your eyes and you won't see all those Sens goals go in. Of course, you'll still hear the boos for the Laffs new captain
jayoldschool is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-21, 10:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
I seem to remember Shaw Direct not blacking out any preseason CI games (from Sportsnet) last year. I'd assume this may be the same for all providers and some just choose to not black out the Sportsnet channel instead of re-mapping the feed to another channel.
NB Josh is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2010-09-22, 03:38 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lloydminster, AB
Posts: 258
I don't have CI, so maybe that's why. But I have Shaw and here in Lloydminster it was blacked out.
Shootmaster_44 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome