Reinstalling Vista: help - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 10:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,326
Unhappy Reinstalling Vista: help

I have reinstalled an OS a few times before but can't remember how I get the boot up menu for the OS to let me choose to clean off my hdd and start a fresh new install?

Help is very much appreciated.

Thanks
stationg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 11:40 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
When at the partition list page, click Options, delete the partition(s), create new one(s), start install...
granduncle is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-24, 11:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,163
The vista dvd should start the process. But you have to enable the DVD to be first in the boot sequence.Jump into your BIOS and set the boot sequence to access the DVD first. From there you should enter the Vista install sequence where you can set up RAID,SATA and format and partiion you drives.

You can apperantly make a boot floppy for vista from what i read here, i have not tested this http://www.multibooters.co.uk/floppy.html

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is online now  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-25, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKG26 View Post
The vista dvd should start the process. But you have to enable the DVD to be first in the boot sequence.Jump into your BIOS and set the boot sequence to access the DVD first. From there you should enter the Vista install sequence where you can set up RAID,SATA and format and partiion you drives.

You can apperantly make a boot floppy for vista from what i read here, i have not tested this http://www.multibooters.co.uk/floppy.html
Thanks....hmmm I think it worked. I don't see any of my old files so hoping it was a clean install lol.
stationg is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-25, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,326
Question No sound on Vista: how to check audio card status?

I reinstalled WinVista yesterday. I don't have sound. I am guessing there is no audio drivers installed or I have picked the wrong drivers.

Can I check my hardware to see which audio card I have installed?

Thanks


P.S A side note, I saw somewhere in settings that my speakers weren't plugged in but I checked and they are plugged in and I see the power light.
stationg is online now  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-06-25, 11:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,163
Click start and type into start search Device Manager. This will list your hardware. Look for sound,video,game controlers you probably have some yellow !!!! marks under the stuff missing drivers.

You may need to dig out your motherboards orginal cd for those drivers if you got onboard sound. OR the sound cards cd. Better yet get fresh drivers online for all your hardware in vista form..

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome