Workstation Imaging - Corporate Environment - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,207
Workstation Imaging - Corporate Environment

Looking for some opinions on drive imaging. I just received 4 new Dell Inspiron Desktops and have loaded OEM XP Pro SP3 on all of them. Since they will be going into an office that have systems controlled by group policy I am not too worried about rogue software going on them but I do have users complain that the systems slow down over time.

In short I would like to make images of these clean installs and have a very easy way to re-image the drives back to this clean state if I get more complaints. Basically I am trying to isolate some problems with the network over there. This is kind of a side story but would like some opinions.

These machines are joined to a domain (obviously) with exchange running. What software do you guys use in a corp. environment? I have Acronis running on my servers and find it runs well. I have not had to re-image any drives yet. I know about Acronis workstation as well but have not used it.

I would like to walk into the office with my External hard drive
  • Hook it up
  • run boot loader
  • re-image drive
  • leave

Ideally would like the user over at the office be able to do this when I am not available but that may be asking too much.

Thanks
QuickSilver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 10:43 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
We use Ghost and have been for almost 10 years and have never had an issue with it. I'll tell you what we do if it's any help to you.

Every new model of PC or laptop we get, I build a template using our corporate XP Pro version (never the one that comes with it) and install all our standard operating software. Once that's done I run "sysprep" and boot it up with a network supported Ghost boot CD (which supports all the network cards we have) and dump it on a workstation running GhostCast. That workstation holds all our images and gets backed up to tape weekly.

When a network connection isn't available or would be too slow to load an image it gets burned to a bootable DVD or we use an external IDE drive to host multiple images.

After an image gets loaded, it goes through the XP mini-setup, enter in our corporate XP key, name the PC and that's pretty much it. It's ready for the end user minus a few customizations like mail (Exchange) setup and crap from their old configuration or PC if they have any.

We would never let the end user do this on their own because yes, it is asking for too much.
sleemo is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
We pretty well do it the same way as Sleemo does. We have one image for each hardware type plus a couple of other images for developers that are a difficult build. I can have a computer from the box to a users desk in under an hour this way.

I would never trust a user to do any of this by the way.
pappcam is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 11:51 AM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Drive Image is also worth a look. IIRC, they have a corporate version as well. It was much better than Ghost at one time. Ghost has changed significantly since I compared them so check them both out. Drive image is quite fast, especially with USB and SATA hard drives.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,251
another possibility

Give acronis a look see it has done wonders for me.
http://www.acronis.com/index.html
danbcman is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 12:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC (on Shaw TV & Internet, Telus home phone, Bell mobile)
Posts: 1,767
Ghost v.9 and above are based on Drive Image v.7 and Drive Image is no longer available.

Mike / technut
technut is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-04, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,207
Is Ghost still available? I used it years ago but have not looked into it lately.

How about if a drive has to be replaced do the images have problem's with new drives installed? Other than activation? That was a problem I thought was evident in the earlier products.

Thanks for the replies so far BTW
QuickSilver is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 10:26 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
Yes, Ghost is still available. Mind you we use the corporate version of Ghost and not the home version, they are slightly different from what I've heard, I really don't know much about the home version as I've never used it.

Anyways, the drive makes no difference to Ghost it can be any size or drive going to or from images. As long as the destination drive is large enough for the source image all is good to go. If the destination drive is larger and you have several partitions, you'll get the option to custom resize the new partitions. As for activation, we use XP Pro corporate which doesn't need activation so I've never run into that issue.

The one thing I like about Ghost is that if you get a computer that won't boot, for whatever reason, and if the HDD is still working you can Ghost it (image it) then open up that image file like a big zip file and pick out the end user's data. Or simply dump it on another same machine and have them back up and running in minutes. The only time I haven't been able to Ghost an HDD is when there was something physically wrong with it that was preventing it from accessing the disk. But I'm sure most of the other imaging products out there do the same thing.
sleemo is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,207
Thanks. Ghost looks promising. The site says they are on version 14. Wow the corporate version is based on a license per workstation. They call it the Ghost Solution Suite version 2.5. Is that how your licensing goes Sleemo?
QuickSilver is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 11:38 AM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
My apologies... I meant Acronis True Image.

Drive Image was a disaster for me. Support was non-existent and it did not work well, even when it worked at all. It wasn't any better after Symantec acquired it and changed the name to Ghost. It has probably improved since then. (It certainly couldn't get much worse.)
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-06-05, 10:27 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuickSilver View Post
Thanks. Ghost looks promising. The site says they are on version 14. Wow the corporate version is based on a license per workstation. They call it the Ghost Solution Suite version 2.5. Is that how your licensing goes Sleemo?
Ya, we pretty much have a license for every active computer we have. The licenses are transferrable so when you retire one PC, you can give it to a new one. We recently bought a chunk of Solution Suite 2.0 licenses but the majority of our licences are for version 7 which are still active since we're still on XP Pro. Ghost doesn't change much, just support for new O/Ses and sometimes new hardware.
sleemo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome