Uniblue SpeedUpMyPC has screwed up my internet - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
JSA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 95
Uniblue SpeedUpMyPC has screwed up my internet

After installing Uniblue "SpeedUpMyPC" and going through the optimization process my download speeds are completely screwed up, but my upload speeds are perfectly fine.

I have Rogers Internet light which up until this install worked pretty much as advertised, 994 kb/s download & 248kb/s upload. Now I don't get faster than 400 kb/s downloads with speedtests but my upload is still 248 kb/s. Furthermore what is seriously confusing is that the download speed test from Speedtest.net reports everything is OK, yet Speakeasy.net & Rogers own speedtest are indicating much slower download speeds.

Simple internet navigation is now unbearably slow at 8kb/s. I have checked my connection speeds with my laptop (which does not have SpeedUpMyPC installed) and everything is OK. I have tried uninstalling the program with no benefit and have re-installed the program again with no fix to the problem. Both pc's are on a wireless connection. Can anyone help?? I don't want to have to do a complete OS (Win2K SP4) install again.


Thanks
JSA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 02:25 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,390
Have you contacted Uniblue's Customer Support yet?

http://www.liutilities.com/about/contact/

Let us know what they say/said.
stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 04:30 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
I would uninstall the program, reboot and head over to dslreports.com. They have an online TCP/IP test and a couple of references to TCP/IP optimization programs. You must reboot after changing TCP/IP parameters for them to take effect. I would set the TCP/IP parameters back to defaults as a start.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 04:44 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,390
He tried that already:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSA
I have tried uninstalling the program with no benefit and have re-installed the program again with no fix to the problem.
As I say, let us know what Uniblue Customer Support says. They got your PC into a mess, they can help fix it.
stampeder is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
JSA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 95
Thanks for the link Stampeder. I've filled out a trouble ticket, but probably won't here from them until atleast tommorow since the help desk is closed on weekends. The automated attendant aslo suggested I try installing a new version xx.xx.xxxx which funny enough isn't even available for download on their downloads page?!?! Weird. I'll post back when I get a response. Does anyone think that doing a repair from the Win@K Pro install disk might help?
JSA is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 07:57 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Try a system restore to a point prior to installing the software
i hate tv is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
JSA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 95
Unfortunately Win2K Pro does not have restore points like XP.
JSA is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-10, 02:15 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
He tried that already...
I don't think so. Read my entire post.

I recommend uninstalling it permanently. Google how to uninstall it manually if necessary, since some uninstall programs leave pieces behind. Then find out what is wrong with the internet. Checking the TCP/IP parameters is a start. They can adversely affect certain types of transfers if they are incorrect. Next, I would look at the browser settings. Googling for posts describing similar problems is also a very good idea. It will likely reveal similar experiences and possible solutions.

I would never install a program like this, especially on Windows 2000, XP or Vista. They are just as likely to trash the system as provide any benefit. Even worse, some are nothing but spyware.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-10, 09:14 PM Thread Starter
JSA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 95
Actually, I've done the majority of what I Want My HDTV has suggested already. I've already done the following:

1. Uninstall the software and done complete reboot
2. Upon reboot I prompted Win2K to perform a Check Disk
3. Scanned for Viruses (McAfee Pro with latest engine & dat files)
4. Scanned for Spyware/Malware/Trojans etc. with SpyWare Blaster (newest release)
5. Searched th internet up and down and only found one posting in regards to this problem... unfortunately mine
6. Checked all the settings for my wireless antenna
7. Gone through all the TCP/IP settings in network settings
8. I've done a ipconfig/release & renew through the command promt
9. Rebooted both the Cable Modem & Router
10. Called Rogers to find out if there were any other complaints with internet users in my area.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

As of this moment Uniblue has yet to respond to my problem.
JSA is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-12, 04:27 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
There are some low level TCP/IP settings that are not configurable through Windows. That's why I suggest DSLReports.com/tools. DSLReports.com/tweaks can check the low level TCP/IP settings and make suggestions. They have links to a couple of utilities that might help. They also have a forum that specializes in ISP and TCP/IP issues.

Last edited by I_Want_My_HDTV; 2008-03-12 at 04:33 PM.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 2008-03-28, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
JSA
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 95
After going back and forth with tech support at Uniblue, my internet is finally fixed. I needed to re-install the software and go through a series of settings and re-boots to finally get my internet speed back up to snuff. What I find interesting is that uninstalling the software did not correct the problem, and according to the tech support at Uniblue, a system reboot is required after an "optimization" is done even though this little tidbit is not mentioned in the operating instructions nor did it seem to help me when i rebooted the system a number of times on my own. Now I have this software installed on my PC and am terrified of the possible results should I uninstall it. For those of you considering this product STAY AWAY!!!

P.S Thanks to all those on this site who tried to help out, much appreciated.
JSA is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome