iTunes updates for Win always wants to reboot - why? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-15, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
iTunes updates for Win always wants to reboot - why?

iTunes updates on a fairly frequent basis, I would guess at least once per month, and it always seems to want to reboot. Why?

I am able to update video drivers without requiring an update, surely Apple can update iTunes for Win without requiring you to reboot.
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 12:20 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,783
My guess is that the updates are impacting registry keys, which typically require a reboot when updated.

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 01:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,181
That makes no sense. I develop softwares that regularly updates the registry when upgrading and I never forced a reboot because of that. Any (and I really do mean any) registry changes can be read on the fly by the software.

The only reason why I can think iTunes requires a reboot is to stealth update files that are locked during installation. I'm thinking of the Bonjour service mostly. Then again, iTunes works just fine if you load it without rebooting.

I hate softwares that take the easy route of forcing you to reboot. For the majority of them, I bet they could do without, but it may be too much work.
MarcP is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 02:21 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
It's more typically due to drivers and/or services that need to be restarted or DLLs/driver files that may be locked and need to be replaced and/or re-registered. I have no doubt that this could be done without a restart most of the time but rebooting seems to be the Microsoft way of doing this.

I once worked with a Windows admin who laughed because the Linux kernel needed to be rebuilt when new drivers and modules were added. (That was before dynamic modules were common.) At least it didn't require a reboot every time a patch was installed.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
It's more typically due to drivers and/or services that need to be restarted or DLLs/driver files that may be locked and need to be replaced and/or re-registered. I have no doubt that this could be done without a restart most of the time but rebooting seems to be the Microsoft way of doing this.
But MS seems to have moved away from requiring reboots all of the times. I have had Windows Update do an update to video drivers without requiring a restart.

I wonder if this is a form of marketing for Apple. Since you have a Windows PC we will make you reboot when you update your software - you wouldn't have to do this if you were using a Mac (but I have never used iTunes on a Mac so maybe that requires reboots as well).
Wayne is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 01:32 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,397
I believe that reboots depend on what is being updated and the extent of the update. Since a Mac was discussed, I can mention that the occasional update required a reboot while (most) others do not. I have both my Macs set to check for updates once a week. I can then decide if I wish to update (that product) then, or later, or never, depending on what I'm doing at the time. I do not allow "automatic" updates - I always look at what is being suggested, etc. I can then "untick" the update if I don't want it then, or ever.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 01:34 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
But MS seems to have moved away from requiring reboots all of the times. I have had Windows Update do an update to video drivers without requiring a restart.
The itunes software still needs to support older MS OS products...

DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-09-24, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,314
I have been updating iTunes recently and I still find this requirement very annoying and I don't find any of the responses satisfying.

Argghhhh!
Wayne is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-09-25, 08:57 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
For the record, Macs also require a reboot after an iTunes update. I learned this last week after upgrading iTunes on my Mac Mini. I was totally surprised since I always thought that Macs did not require a reboot after an update.
hugh is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-09-25, 04:28 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 790
Clunky old Itunes relies on a multitude of services (such as Bonjour, Apple Device Mananger and TuneUp in my case). If I remember correctly those services are not set to automatically restart after having been stopped (by the uninstall or update utility). THerefore they require a machine restart.

A fresh itunes install on the other hand does not require a restart.

I do admit that it is a pain in the b*tt to have to restart the PC with such frequent updates.

Going nowhere @ 220 ft
John Koenig is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome