Fixing Overscan - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-02-25, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Question Fixing Overscan

Hi everyone,

I have a RCA D52W20 tv (didn't buy it, came free with furniture) and I notice quite abit of overscan when watching HD. For reference, the right edge of the small circle in the CBS logo touches the right side of my screen.

I've tried fixing it by entering the tech setup and playing with the different positions. Problem I'm having is the center of the picture "bows" once I get the picture centered.

I guess I'm just getting impatient and I'm wondering if it's really worth it. My thinking is if the picture is zoomed in abit (~2" all around) would this not cause some resolution problems?

Thanks for any input
chachie222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-02-25, 01:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,682
This doesn't sound quite right. Can you post a picture so we can see what you are talking about?
rsambuca is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-02-25, 02:19 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,484
CRT-RPTVs typically have 4-6% overscan. The amount you have sounds "normal". You can check the % overscan with a setup DVD:

FAQ - What You Need To Do To Your New HDTV

If there is no "H-size" or "V-size" or similar in the service menu, there may be nothing to do.

I found some potentiometers on my chassis (Hitachi) that allowed me to reduce the overscan some, but required many hours in the DCAM convergence to straighten things out afterwards due to the "bowing" you mentioned. This route is not recommended since it can apparently damage your TV by taking things "out of range".

Also, see the following post on the service menu and heed the warnings:

FAQ - Service Menu Codes

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-02-25, 02:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,897
I have an RCA Scenium 61, and the menu will be the same as yours. You can fix the overscan with the service menu. You will be able to adjust the "bowing" with one of the adjustments. Once you are in the service menu, write down all the numbers, then start adjusting, slowly, so you can figure out what each thing does. I can't remember the name of the adjustment you need, but it is there.
jayoldschool is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome