CTV CFTO Toronto HD now on air channel 40 !!!!! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 06:21 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,119
CTV CFTO Toronto HD now on air channel 40 !!!!!

Channel 40-1 just lit up with a very strong signal tonight... I guess they were televising the Junos in Hi Def. Nice to know we have a new HD channel in Toronto to watch.
HDTV101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 08:17 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
For satellite and cable viewers, this is the same as CTV East.
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 09:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
No signal for me. Maybe it was a one time test for the Juno's.
Macros17 is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 04:34 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,135
No signal. 4:30 PM Monday April 4.

Can anyone else confirm a signal on 40?
dsspredator is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,119
I'm in Mississauga... it was on the air at 6am today... thats when I noticed it. They had the CFTO news on. Keep an eye on this channel... I'm sure when they have something in HD it will be back on the air again.

I just checked now.... 5:14pm and channel 40 it's back on the air! There is a game show on with a big CTV logo on the screen.

I just checked CFTO's listings and tonight Corner Gas @ 8pm is in HD and then a movie @ 9pm CTV Movie: TRIPPING THE WIRE: A STEPHEN TREE MYSTERY HD.

I'll be watching at these times to see what there HD PQ is like.

Last edited by HDTV101; 2005-04-04 at 05:28 PM.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 05:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 27
Downtown Toronto - 40-1 is active at 5:30PM this afternoon but I'm onling getting it at about 50%. Does anyone know where the transmitter is?
westhead74 is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 05:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oakville, Ont.
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by westhead74
Does anyone know where the transmitter is?
I would imagine the CN tower, but I don't know for sure. I'm getting 68% signal strength in Oakville, the same as CityTV.
billn is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by westhead74
Downtown Toronto - 40-1 is active at 5:30PM this afternoon but I'm onling getting it at about 50%. Does anyone know where the transmitter is?
Glad to hear I'm not the only one receiving it..!


I would imagine this DT channel 40 TX is up on the CN Tower and is using a combiner with Global’s analog channel 41.

This trick was done with the CBC’s DT channel 20 and TVO’s analog 19 &

City’s DT 53 is combined with Toronto one’s analog channel 52

This signal from both adjacent stations is combined and sent up to one common tuned antenna in the CN Towers mast. Using a combiner unit they don’t have to add anymore physical antennas up there in the mast and the existing transmition lines can be used for both stations now … this saves a lot in costs.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 06:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Very weak signal now 8% reported on MYHD. I get CityHD 83% and Toronto 1 at 66%. It's about as strong as WNYO 49 digital for me.
Macros17 is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 07:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,402
Thumbs up

I am receiving a stronger signal than city-dt or tor1-dt but not quite as strong as cbc-dt.Their supposed to be at 17kw seems like they are.Analog 52 is on First Canadian Place.City-dt is sharing with their analog signal on cn tower ,using the same antenna.

CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 10:30 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by billn
I would imagine the CN tower, but I don't know for sure. I'm getting 68% signal strength in Oakville, the same as CityTV.
They're up on the tower as you guessed. CN Tower present and possible future stations:

Prov City Chan Call Ntwk Lat Long HAAT ERP

ON Toronto 25 CBLFT(1) CBCF 433833 792315 491.0 615600
ON Toronto 25 CBLFT 433833 792315 499.8 1928000
ON Toronto 24 CBLFT-DT CBCF 433833 792315 491.0 2500
ON Toronto 5 CBLT CBCE 433833 792315 463.3 84000
ON Toronto 20 CBLT-DT CBCE 433833 792315 491.0 38000
ON Toronto 64 CFMT-DT(1) INDE 433856 792255 303.7 15000
ON Toronto 47 CFMT-TV INDE 433833 792315 501.4 1138000
ON Toronto 40 CFTO-DT 433833 792315 0.0 0
ON Toronto 9 CFTO-TV CTV 433833 792315 467.0 280000
ON Toronto 51 CICA-DT 433833 792315
ON Toronto 19 CICA-TV TVO 433833 792315 491.0 1288200
ON Toronto 65 CIII-DT-41 GTN 433833 792315 458.8 3000
ON Toronto 41 CIII-TV-41 GTN 433833 792315 501.4 732000
ON Toronto 53 CITY-DT INDE 433833 792315 515.0 1200
ON Toronto 57 CITY-TV INDE 433833 792315 515.1 192000
ON Toronto 52 CKXT-TV INDE 433833 792315 458.0 30000
ON Toronto 66 CKXT-DT INDE 433833 792315 458.0 3000

Cut and pasted from http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...da_TV_Stations

Last edited by stampeder; 2005-04-04 at 10:42 PM.
stampeder is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 11:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder
They're up on the tower as you guessed. CN Tower present and possible future stations:

...

Cut and pasted from http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...da_TV_Stations
Hmm, interesting list. OMNI-1 is on the CN Tower, but where are OMNI-2 and the OMNI-DT stations from (though I don't think the latter are actually transmitting yet)?

Wow, almost 2,000,000 watts (W) for SRC (SD). At 6¢/kW-hr that's over $1 million a year just to pay for that hydro for 24 hrs/day. I sure hope that when it's night, and Roger's is showing the test-signal, that someone has turned the switch at night!

2 MW ... 250 of those and you need another Pickering Candu ...

Nick
nfitz is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-04, 11:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 337
It was a pleasant surprise to see CTV up and running, broadcasting actual HD content OTA!! I thought they would do like CBC and display a test pattern for a month before broadcasting. I caught a bit of the movie "Tripping The Wire". The picture quality was very nice. My receiver also reported a 5.1 DD signal (I can't confirm it wasn't DD 2.0 upconverted). I realize we probably won't get much original HD from CTV (mostly sim-subbed stuff) but it's nice to have an alternate choice every now and then.

Of the major players in the GTA only Global remains. After that, the second tier has few left: TVO, OMNI1 & OMNI2. Global is too busy counting the money they make from their almost pristine sim-subbed programming lineup. We may end up seeing the OMNI's up before Global.

On a side note, I'm glad CTV chose 1080i. Of the broadcast networks, only FOX and ABC have gone the 720p route. Although 720p would help with high-speed sports, for the most part 1080i does a better job with film content IMO.
jeneral is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-05, 12:38 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfitz
2 MW ... 250 of those and you need another Pickering Candu...
But doesn't Johnny Nucleo still have his Top-O’-The-Reactor Lounge up on the CN Tower anymore?

cheers SCTV fans,
stampeder
stampeder is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 2005-04-05, 12:57 PM
Faz
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 28
CFTO-OTA ... that was a surprise to me! I work in the business and I usually hear in advance (through the grapevine) about stuff like that.

I am also now more frustrated. I love the concept of FREE over-the-air TV that is better than cable quality (when when the shows are SD), but owing to my location (downtown Toronto) I can't get the Buffalo channels. There are large buildings just south of me that are blocking the signal. Now I pay Rogers an extra $15 per month for the privilege of struggling with their goofy STB with it's slow channel changes, out-of-sync audio/video, freezeups and dropouts. Oh well.

Anyone want to buy an almost-new Channel Master 4228?
Faz is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome