KP57WS520 Opinions - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2004-10-13, 01:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 223
KP57WS520 Opinions

I am looking at buying this tv but I am most worried about burn in!! I will mostly be playing my XBox and PS2 and later hooking up an HTPC. Should I be worried?? Any other opinions will be welcome...

Thanks!!

J
Golibano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2004-10-13, 01:42 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
Any CRT-based TV has the potential for Burn-in. You need to be "aware", but not paranoid. Most manufacturers recommend that any static image sould not be left on a CRT-based TV for more than 15% of the time (guideline).

A proper setup of the TV will also help - see the Digital Home FAQ "What you need to do to your new HDTV".

Sony have not really excelled at CRT-based RPTVs, you may wish to consider some other brands unless you have a particular tie to Sony.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2004-11-17, 01:32 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 64
I own the Sony 51WS510 which is last years models of the one you are interested in and i absolutely love it. I owned a Toshiba 51 rptv and couldnt stand it so i exchanged it for the Sony.

Its a great set.

Tunnel
Tunnel is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2004-11-20, 04:21 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 17
Galibano

I bought a KP51WS510( last year's model) late this summer and I find nothing wrong with it. It has a great picture right out of the box. For the price, it has the biggest bang for your viewing buck! It's replacement, the 520( which is mechanically identical, I think) can be had for a little over 2k here in Calgary on sale( sometimes less!).
If you respect it's limitations, wrt to the ideal viewing environment and angles, it provides you with a lot of enjoyment for a modest price;one of the benefits of a mature technology...............
It doesn't perform well in a room with a lot of ambient lite. It is meant to be in a dark, windowless room....like a home theatre room!...hmmmmm....I have mine in a sensory deprivation chamber I call my home theatre room It was a purposely built room for viewing movies with a CRT RPTV in mind. The front wall is flat black, the side walls are dark eggplant? and the ceiling is flat black! With all the wall sconce lites on, you bearly get enough lite to find the remote and DVD case..... Kind of like the glow of the event horizon around a black hole
I have the back of the TV backlit for movie/TV viewing as per the usual reasons..thanks again to all of these great forums!

Greg

" is it just me...... or does the herd really need some culling.......?"
AESO is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2006-03-18, 10:24 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Does anybody know if this tv can be split into two? I know its not designed to split like the Hitachi's/Toshibas but I know some tvs can be split, just not as easily as those that are designed to be split.

Thanks for any info
DGeorge is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2006-04-11, 10:59 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kemptville, ON
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGeorge
Does anybody know if this tv can be split into two? I know its not designed to split like the Hitachi's/Toshibas but I know some tvs can be split, just not as easily as those that are designed to be split.

Thanks for any info
I've had this TV for over a year now. Great picture quality, just as good as some LCD's and DLP's I've seen at stores.

Yes it has PIP. I'm on satellite (*C) here and managed to get PIP using 2 receivers (421B and 505) and some creative programming with my Harmony 659 remote. Only use PIP on rare occasions. If you're on cable, switching back and forth should be a snap.
CIVIL GUY is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2006-04-12, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,122
Greetings

You can take the front screen off but a whole mess of wires are connected to the screen from the guts of the tV so you cannot easily disconnect them.

The back hood of the set can be disassembled but you still have the screen to deal with ..

regards

Michael @ TLVExperience
ISF/THX Video Systems Instructor
Michael TLV is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome