5900 vs. 3100 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2004-06-29, 08:56 AM Thread Starter
NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Leamington, Ontario
Posts: 72
5900 vs. 3100

To the experts out there - I just upgraded one of my 3100 receivers to the 5900 PVR (I wanted to go HD but I will wait for the HD-PVR - I wanted the PVR features now and I absolutely love it by the way). Anyway, I'm watching tv on a 51' Hitachi RPTV and I swear the PQ is very noticeably better (albeit still in SD) with the 5900 vs the 3100. Is that possible?
NZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2004-06-29, 09:06 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
I swear the PQ is very noticeably better (albeit still in SD) with the 5900 vs the 3100. Is that possible?
How are you connecting? Were you using S-Video cable on both?
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2004-06-29, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Leamington, Ontario
Posts: 72
S-video on both so that can't make the difference.
NZ is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2004-06-29, 03:01 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
How is it better, NZ? Fewer artifacts? Because that's the one thing that just annoys me with my 4700 right now.
ken0042 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2004-06-29, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
NZ
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Leamington, Ontario
Posts: 72
It's kinda hard to describe but it just seemed that with my 3100, a lot of channels weren't "crisp". It was like you were watching them through a film...a little foggy. The PVR on the other hand seems to be pretty consistent with all channels...very few artifacts (negligible) and a general crispness and sharpness to the picture that I didn't have before. It's not quite as clean as HD but it is pretty darn close. I'm loving it! I'm wondering if there is some sort of difference in the processor of each unit with the PVR (obviously) being better at processing the signals. Does that make any sense???
NZ is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome