Linksys Wireless Card Keeps Losing Connection - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-18, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, ON -- Samsung UN55C6300, Samsung HLP4663W, BellTV 9241 x2, JVC RX8000V, LG BD555C
Posts: 310
Linksys Wireless Card Keeps Losing Connection

I've had a Linksys Wireless G router and card for my laptop for a couple of months and haven't had a problem until last weekend. Now I can't get my connection to last more than 5 minute before it says it can't find and network and the a second later finds it (and another one) again. The other one has been there since I started.

I tried re-installing and changing frequencies but nothing seems to help.

Any ideas??

Many thanks!
Bruce Fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-18, 03:18 PM
dc
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,003
Could be interference. G operates at 2.4GHz so a 2.4GHz cordless phone could be the problem, maybe even a neighbours. Microwave ovens can also cause interference. Try moving the router to a completely different location. The "other one" might be an unsecured neighbour's router. Try asking your neighbours.
dc is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-18, 03:23 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winnipeg with MTS Ultimate TV, MTS Lightning 25 & VOIP Phone Service.
Posts: 3,300
I also heard about these new wireless cards that are double the speed but they suck up all the bandwidth and people with teh other cards are left with choppy connections, maybe one of your neighbours has one of these.

I don't know much info on this stuff, but I heard that on Tech TV before it became to G4techtv.

Shawguy

- User 'K from Canada' on the MTS Community Forums
- User '7825' on the Shaw Community Forums
- I do NOT work for Shaw or have any connections to the company
shawguy is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-18, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,793
I have noticed similar things. I never had any problems until I put a D-Link wired router into my network. I then got continual drop outs of the signal. I switched to a wireless D-Link and got the same problems on both the PC (wired) and laptop.

It has not been as bad recently as it was initially but it is still frustrating. It makes me wonder if the problem is on Rogers end, not mine.

Ordinarily he was insane, but he had lucid moments when he was merely stupid.
Proteosome is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-19, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, ON -- Samsung UN55C6300, Samsung HLP4663W, BellTV 9241 x2, JVC RX8000V, LG BD555C
Posts: 310
I have a cordless phone but a 900MHz as I anticipated going wireless. I've had it longer than the wireless router.

I tried my laptop corded into the router and it is fine so it is definitely the wireless portion.

I'll ask my neighbours if they have installed anything new. Like I said it was working problem free for a couple of months before this started.

Very odd...

thanks!
Bruce Fan is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-19, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mission, BC, Canada
Posts: 175
I had a similar problem with a Linksys WPC11..

It had worked well for a long time and then suddenly would no longer communicate with the WAP...even though it had good signal strength..

I found a new firmware on their website installed it and it started working again...

Installing the new firmware not ony got it working again, it also added some new cool features...
Skyway is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-19, 11:32 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,017
I like new tech but wireless LAN is a step backwards in my mind. It is slower (LAN), more prone to drop outs (from my experience) and less secure (WAN) out of the box. Those are big reasons to stay wired for me. I can't get my cordless phones to work reliably in my house let alone a wireless LAN. I think it is useful where one does want wires but for me it is substance over style. I find it odd that encryption is not enabled by default on most WAPs. But I can also understand why not since it is not exactly a walk in the park to setup correctly.

John
Jake is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-20, 03:08 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 502
Jake, although I know where you're coming from, how could you say no to wireless?

Finally there is actually an option to have nothing hanging out of your laptop, you're able to freely roam around your house and still be connected at teh same time...wireless has changed the way that i access the internet around my house, I can sit outside in my yard and use the computer now, you don't have this ethernet cable chained to you constantly

sure it may be a slower LAN but when do you ever use 11mbps? most people's broadband connection maxes out at 2mbps, and as with anything new there are always things to improve on, the next generation of wireless internet should fix all those security holes.

but back to the dropouts, shawguy mentioned the new wireless routers that have "enhanced speeds" and from what I understand its when someone in your neighbourhood transfers a large file, the router actually uses all the bandwidth of entire 2.4ghz spectrum and effectively blocks anyone else using it...so that's probably your dropout issue...

have you also tried doing a reset of the router? reset to factory defaults etc? it might also just be your router acting strange.
atong is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-20, 12:47 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Surrey, Shaw DCX 3400, Samsung UN46D6000, Denon Avr-1905, Paradigm CC-170, Titans, Atoms, PDR 10 v3
Posts: 581
I also love my wireless connection. I have the Linksys 80211.b system and it has been great. I only had an issue a while back re: connectivity. I have a feeling someone either bought a router nearby or a new phone? who knows.

I would boot up my laptop and not get a connection in a timely fashion. I went in and changed the channel and it has been great since. No more interference. I am suspecting that it was another wireless neighbour as I saw a new mac id that was showing up on my config. It wasn't connected though as I only allow the one mac to do so.

It is very convenient.

Perhaps.. fiddle with the channels some more and see what happens.
Sith is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2004-06-20, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, ON -- Samsung UN55C6300, Samsung HLP4663W, BellTV 9241 x2, JVC RX8000V, LG BD555C
Posts: 310
After checking around on the Linksys site it turns out it was a setting problem. Somehow the "Enable IEEE 802.1x authentication for this network" got checked and shouldn't be.

It now works just fine!
Bruce Fan is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome