New HD set-up, problems with artifacts etc. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-22, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
New HD set-up, problems with artifacts etc.

First post! Glad I found this site, looks like a wealth of knowledge (and knowledgable people) here...

I have just recently purchase a LCD (42LG50) and just received my HD box (Motorola DCT6416III). I have the box hooked to the tv via a HDMI connector (Belkin 3 foot). Cable provider is Cogeco.

Before I received the HD box I had the coax hooked directly into the back of the TV and the analog channels had no interference etc.

Going through the HD box gave me a lot of channels "will be ready shortly" and most with major artifacts and messed up sound. Call to Cogeco resulted in them scheduling a technician to come out next week.

I did some messing around myself and found a problem.
My cable comes into the basement and I had that split to my 27" basement tv and then a 50 foot RG59 cable coming into the DCT6416III.
When I hooked the 50 foot RG59 directly into the outlet I have good quality on the LCD.
I tried replacing my splitter with the splitter that came from Cogeco and the same artifacts etc.

Question, is it worth replacing the RG59 with RG6 cable to the HD box? Would this let me run the splitter (and my basement TV) without as much signal degradation?
Anything else I can try?

Thanks,
Burt
(sorry for the long post)
Burtess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-23, 03:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,747
Yes, and that is probably the first thing the technician will do or recommend.

SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-23, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
I just replace the 100 foot (thought it was 50ft in original post) RG59 with 50 foot RG6. Now I have to test the splitter again...

Burt
Burtess is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-29, 04:22 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 137
I had similar problem at my old house...the splitter that Rogers installed was ok...anyway my problem was solved after installing one of those signal booster as per the Rogers techician suggested.
apvm is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2008-12-30, 12:45 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,331
Splitter needs to be rated 5-1000 MHz minimum and bidirectional. Just call Cogeco and they should install appropriate cables, splitters, amp if necessary, etc.

Please read the following post and the appropriate links, useful for those new to the forum:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum (Motorola optimization, TV optimization, etc)

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome