Pc To Tv - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Pc To Tv

Hey, i have a sony bravia 720p lcd tv and i hooked my pc to it and it is exellent for gaming and msn and stuff, but i dont know why people say 1080p is better, i can still set my 720p v screen to 2560-1600 resoloution and it looks good but its to small anyway, but i dont know what i should do. Is it going to cause eye damage using a 720p tv instead of a 1080p tv cause i dont notice any different and thre guy at the pc store where i bought my pc parts said that 720p was better for computers. AND ALSO! please answer my question " can i get a hdmi hub so i can go from 1 hdmi plug into like 3 or 4. If so, will it be an expensive hub??" I am running my pc off of hdmi cause vga is garbage i hear

thanks kirk
kirkman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 05:50 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
kirk, you may want to think about formating your post. Its virtually impossible to read.

Can you tell us what exactly is your question?
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
Ok, my question is: Is it alright if i use my 720p tv with my computer, and my second question is: Can i get a hdmi hub so i can go from 1 hdmi plug to 4 hdmi plugs, like a usb hub.
thanks
kirkman is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 08:58 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
Is it alright if i use my 720p tv with my computer
Yes
Quote:
Can i get a hdmi hub so i can go from 1 hdmi plug to 4 hdmi plugs, like a usb hub.
Yep, search for an HDMI switcher
hugh is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
ok, thanks, i apreciate it
kirkman is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 10:57 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 71
the benefit of a 1080p is more real estate for a desktop, and better clarity at the same size when viewing a 1080p/1080i source. also smaller dotpitch. no benefit if viewing a 720p source.
crazyea is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 08:21 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 14
what if i veiw it at 1080i?
kirkman is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 10:59 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Carling, Ontario
Posts: 815
>>>but i dont know why people say 1080p is better, i can still set my 720p v screen to 2560-1600 resoloution and it looks good but its to small anyway,<<<

A 1080p TV has 1080 rows of pixels (and 1920 of them in each row). Your TV is likely actually technically a 768p TV as it's native resolution is something like 1366x768. When you view something in 1080i, your TV just removes enough pixels that the picture will fit into 768lines. If you view a 720p show, then the TV duplicates a few lines to fill up the screen to 768 lines from 720.

If you set your resolution to 2560-1600, all that is happening is that your computer thinks you have a 2560-1600 screen and sends that much information to the TV. The TV throws out about 3/4s of that information (about 1 in 2 pixels both horizontally and vertically) and displays what is left over.

That isn't necessarily bad. I play games at 1280x960 on my 32" 768p TV. I get more on the screen that I would if I chose its native resolution of 1366x768. However, it also means that some things are hard to read, especially text, as not all of the pixels of each letter are there.

With a 1080p TV, you get 1080 lines of actual pixels to work with. This means that if you are watching a 1080i/p show on TV you don't lose any pixels at all. You would still lose pixels at higher resolutions, but much fewer.

Also, yes it is ok to use your TV as a monitor. If your TV will accept the resolution from the computer, it is ok to use it -- the chip inside the TV will just convert it for you to 1366x768.
scampbell is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 11:04 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 785
Since the LCD panel is a fixed resolution display it is always the best to use it at its native rez (if it accepts the input signal and allows 1:1 pixel mapping, of course)...
testikoff is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 11:18 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 71
one more thing, I have been suing my 1080p 46" Samsung 750 series lcd for about a month as a monitor and i am having major eye strain. so it is ok for a desktop but maybe not so much for everyday use.......time to got back to my 245T...
crazyea is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome