24fps and a Samsung550 plasma? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Victoria
Posts: 3
24fps and a Samsung550 plasma?

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie here and just got my new plasma. I searched the treads, but couldn't find anything about the "24fps" and a plasma display. Will my plasma display a "24fps" if I choose that option on my blu-ray (which is getting hooked up later today)?
Thanks
dadsaway is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-09, 04:23 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,402
What's the exact model number of the Samsung Plasma? The specs usually indicate if the 1080/24P signal is accepted or not. What's the make/model of the BD player? These can usually be set to "auto", which may be the best option so that you'll always have the best signal.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Victoria
Posts: 3
It's a Samsung PN50A550SIFXZC. The BD player is a Sony BDPS350. I couldn't find it in the TV specs anywhere. Is it really all that important anyways? Is 24fps really that special?
Thanks
dadsaway is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 12:31 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,402
I don't see it in the spec either:

http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/d...XZA&fullspec=F

It is not "that special" since most TVs or DVD players have 2:3 pulldown option (sometimes calles something else) to convert the 24 fps movies to 30 fps TV. This can sometimes cause "judder", but up until very recently, that's what all TVs did... This 2:3 pulldown only impacts 480i or 1080i signals and is usually greyed out when you feed a progressive signal.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Victoria
Posts: 3
Thanks 57, for the fast reply. I guess I don't need to be that worried if it doesn't display it.
dadsaway is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-10, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
I have this A550 plasma...
My HTPC is my Bluray player and I do set it @ 1920x1080/24Hz and it's not bad.
For all other input settings, I just set it to AUTO.

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-14, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 92
On my setup, PN50A450 handles 24fps from Panasonic BD35 but I'm assuming the BD player outperforms the TV on 3:2 pulldown duties so I set it to always feed 60p to the A450. Should I do otherwise?
rvp819 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-14, 11:51 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,402
You would probably be the best judge of that - try both ways. I would have expected "superior performance" if the 24fps signal is fed directly to the TV if the TV accepts 24fps, since there is no 2:3 pulldown performed in that instance.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-15, 07:08 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
if the TV accepts 24fps, ...there is no 2:3 pulldown performed in that instance.
Thanks 57 for the info. I assumed the TV did the pulldown, but if it displays 24fps directly, I'll change the BD35 to output 24. I haven't had much time to tweak my setup yet and compare different settings - Xmas break will give me that time.
rvp819 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome