Antenna-VCR-HDTV connection - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 2008-11-28, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto Bloor/Jane
Posts: 17
Antenna-VCR-HDTV connection

My present connection is the classical Antenna-VCR-Standard TV. (currently I do not have a HDVT yet). I do not have cable in my house and I am not planning to get it.
1. I can program my VCR for recording when I am no there.
2. Watch a tv program while recording another one
3. Record the same program as I am watching.

Future (1 month)
I will replace the standard tv with an HDTV.
Can I do the same functions as above?
1. I can program my VCR for recording when I am no there.
I assume I will only record the SD channels since the VCR does not have a digital tuner.
2. Watch a tv program while recording another one.
I assume I can only record SD channels.
3. Record the same program as I am watching.
I assume that I can record HDTV channels.

Any information or confirmation would be appreciated.
TKS is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 2008-11-28, 04:47 PM
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,726
You need to mention if you plan to use the TV as a tuner and send that signal to the VCR. Some TVs have a composite (yellow) video out (along with the red/white analogue audio cables) to do that, however, this would typically have to be done "manually". ie, the TV's tuner probably cannot be set for a particular time or date. The antenna connection would need to be split to the TV and to the VCR, obviously.

You could still feed your VCR and record (analogue channel) programmes as before, however, VCRs are very poor signals to feed to an HDTV and you will probably not want to use it much once you see how poorly it looks.

You'll probably want to look into a DVD recorder or an HD recorder option (like an HTPC) as discussed in the OTA or HTPC forum.

The above all assumes that you don't plan to use a service provider like Rogers, BTV or *C as these have integrated HD PVRs available. See the following on Recording HD:

FAQ - Recording HD

It'd probably be good to know the exact equipment you plan to use and how you plan to use it, rather than us guessing.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome