Samsung LN40A550 audio popping - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-14, 03:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Samsung LN40A550 audio popping

I recently purchased this tv and have a strange problem.

The built in speakers will make a "popping" sound ever so often.

I have a shaw pvr and xbox 360 hooked up through hdmi and no matter which input I'm using, it will make the same sounds. It is quite annoying and distracting and quite severe, popping almost 10-20 times in an hour. I have updated the firmware to the latest version and the problem persists.

I have done some searching and can't seem to find anyone with the same issue. The TV is past its 30 days so I can not exchange it.

Any of your expert advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
BananaJaK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-25, 01:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, Sask
Posts: 20
I have LN40A530. I think its pretty much the same TV as yours minus the USB port. I hear the popping ocasionally but not as often as you are saying. I hear it maybe once every few days. The only time I hear it is sometimes when I put a videogame into the system and it is loading up and the TV says searching for signals. To be honest I wasn't even sure if it is the TV or my tuner? but it sounds like what you are describing. Anyway my TV is under warrantly for 8 more months so if something breaks I hope it happens before then. I haven't been to concerned about it and am very happy with the TV.
nhlhockey is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-25, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 819
Thanks for the heads-up. Since I always use external speakers, I might never have noticed this problem. I'll watch a few programs and let you know if anything pops!
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-11-26, 03:18 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bolton, ON
Posts: 645
I just bought this TV and haven't noticed any popping yet. I haven't updated the firmware. I just have regular coax cable hooked up (yes, it's ugly) and also a Venturer HDDVD player and XBOX360 both connected via HDMI.
mark is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome