120hz on Standard DVDs? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-17, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
120hz on Standard DVDs?

Hi folks.

I'm just in the process of watching ""Michael Clayton" in a standard DVD format on my brand new Samsung BD 1500 player on my brand new 46" Samsung A650 LCD set.

The tv is set to 120hz "motion plus' but the "info" screen shows that I am watching in 60hz 720 x 480. The bluray player is supposed to be upconverting the standard DVD.

Is there a reason why I am not getting the 120hz to work?

I am new to hidef and would like to get advice from the pros in our community.

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks-a-ton,
audiobill
audiobill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-17, 11:58 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
The info screen shows the incoming signal, not what's on the screen. The fact that you've got 720 x 480 also indicates that you haven't set up the DVD player to upconvert the signal properly since you would want to be seeing 1080P as the upconverted format I assume.

See the following posts:

FAQ - Native Display Resolution vs. Input Format Input format

FAQ - On Upconversion Upconversion

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum Useful information for those new to HD.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 07:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
60, 24, and 120??

Hey 57,

Thanks-a-ton for your suggestions and the useful links.

You were right. I managed to activate 1080p on the samsung bd upconverter. I noticed that when I played SD discs 60zh was on and when I played BD discs (i.e., Planet Earth) 24hz was on, the info screen. I'm assuming this is the way things should play. Not sure if 120hz should show, since our new samsung lcd a650 has 120hz??

audiobill
audiobill is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 10:01 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
That's the way it should be. As stated before, the TV shows the incoming signal, not what it does to the signal to display it. The 60/24 are what the player is sending, which is correct.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome