TV Audio Mute Annoyance - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-28, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
TV Audio Mute Annoyance

My pet peeve are TVs that don't have a way to turn off the speakers from a remote control without displaying an annoying 'Mute' message. My Samsung 4661 does this and it means that when I want to listen to the show using my 5.1 setup I have to turn the TV volume down manually rather then have the Harmony do it automatically.
gnunn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-28, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fraser Valley, BC
Posts: 481
There is a way to turn off the speakers on most TV's by going into the TV menu. The harmony can be set up with a macro to go into the TV's menu and select "speaker off". If the TV didn't say "mute" on the screen when the TV is muted there would be many support calls and returned TV's as people might hit the mute button by accident, and assume something went wrong with the speakers on the TV.
dscott01 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-28, 02:19 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnunn
when I want to listen to the show using my 5.1 setup
I take that to mean that you are using an AV 5.1 receiver/speakers and the receiver is putting MUTE on the screen when it is muted, or is it the TV's own 5.1 audio?
stampeder is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-28, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
I'm talking about the mute on the television so you can listen through the receiver. On the 4661 you get a nice box saying "Mute Enabled" which makes the mute function useless. As per the other poster, the 4661 does have this function buried in a menu and I did try coding a macro for it in Harmony but the performance of the macro was brutal. I tried speeding up the delays in the Harmony but any faster and the macro would not not, so I was out of luck.
gnunn is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 01:06 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burnaby,BC--Sharp LC-37D43U,Pioneer 1018AH,PS3,Toshiba HD-A2,Celestion AVP-301,Jamo SW-1008,DCT3416
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
My pet peeve are TVs that don't have a way to turn off the speakers from a remote control without displaying an annoying 'Mute' message. My Samsung 4661 does this and it means that when I want to listen to the show using my 5.1 setup I have to turn the TV volume down manually rather then have the Harmony do it automatically.
If you have a 5.1 setup then why would you ever have the TV speakers turned on or TV volume turned up to begin with?

Panasonic TH-50PX60U,Pioneer VSX-1018AH,Sony BDP-S350,Toshiba HD-A3,Energy RC Mini Speakers,Klipsch Sub-10,H880,DCT3416
kev604 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 01:40 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev604
If you have a 5.1 setup then why would you ever have the TV speakers turned on or TV volume turned up to begin with?
That's what I'm trying to figure out. Why wouldn't you permanently disable the audio on the HDTV, gnunn?
stampeder is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 07:52 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
No reason in particular, it just seems like a waste to have the receiver on when I'm just watching regular TV and have no need for 5.1 sound. This is not a major issue, just something I wish TV manufacturers would include as a standard feature. My old Sony LCD projection set allowed me to turn the speakers off with a discrete code and it was great.
gnunn is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnunn View Post
I did try coding a macro for it in Harmony but the performance of the macro was brutal. I tried speeding up the delays in the Harmony but any faster and the macro would not not, so I was out of luck.
What's the model of the Harmony? I have a nine step sequence on mine to turn the CC on and off and it works great. I also programed a 12 step sequence for my Mom to do a channel scan on her STB that also works like a charm. Just takes a bit of time. You do know you can get about 3 or 4 button presses in one step in a sequence with a bit of trial and error?
vmpv is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 06:49 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
In my experience, turning the TV volume to zero is the best option. Mute does not do a good job. OTOH, I rarely turn the TV volume above zero. The A/V system handles all sound.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-29, 09:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
I have a Harmony 880, I don't think the delay issue is a problem with the Harmony, rather the TV does not work well with codes sent in rapid succession.
gnunn is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-30, 03:49 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hardisty, AB
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnunn
No reason in particular, it just seems like a waste to have the receiver on when I'm just watching regular TV and have no need for 5.1 sound.
I'm not sure what you mean by waste. Even regular programs sound better through the HT system than only using the TV (not to mention hearing the news in a cathedral sound field, LOL) . I would find it a waste not to use something that a person invests a great deal of $$$ and time into.
I have an older Hitachi TV (in our 2nd HT system) that I've owned for over 6 years and have never heard it's internal speakers once.
80'sMan is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2008-07-30, 05:38 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
My TV speakers are OFF and use the a/v receiver full time.

When my wife is in the house, I punch "Night" on my 880 (a receiver option on the Activity menu) and that kills the sub output. And when she tells me she's going to bed, I plug in the headphones in the receiver jack input.
mfabien is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome