Input Switch For Sony Bravia: Satellite and OTA? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Question Input Switch For Sony Bravia: Satellite and OTA?

I'm waiting for delivery of my Sony Bravia KDL32L4000 HDTV (32") LCD...
I looked at the "Manual" online from some source,
and noticed that there is only 1 Satellite/Cable connector on this model of Sony HDTV for Satellite/Cable or Antenna connections.
I understand that I need an "A/B" type of switch to change back & forth from Satellite to Antenna (OTA)...???
My question is "How Sophisticated" of a switching device do I need, and what benifits are there in
a more costly switching device...
Thankyou in advance for any help or info...
I`m a newbie to HDTV...
oldave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 03:31 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,349
oldave, you should be able to run your Satellite receiver into your new HDTV using either its HDMI, Composite, or S-VHS connectors, depending on which is available on both the satellite box and the TV. That takes care of that. For OTA you just need to run an antenna lead into the antenna/cable input and then do a scan for channels.

What is your location?
stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 08:11 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Still confused...???

Thanks Stampeder...
I`m located in Southern Ontario (London)
I am still somewhat confused though...
My STB is not HD,I will buy a HD STB in the near future...
Are you saying that when I connect my satellite STB (It has both S-Video and Composite connections) through HDMI or Composite connections to the HDTV, it "frees-up" the Cable/Satellite "coax input" on my HDTV, thereby allowing me to connect an Antenna directly to the HDTV coax connector...???
If so, do I then "Switch" between the inputs on my TV/Remote control...to switch from Satellite to Antenna (OTA)...???
Thanks again for any help for this "Old Newbie"...

oldave...
oldave is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 10:07 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,318
Yes, you connect the Satellite STB to one input of the TV and connect the Antenna to the "RF-Coax" input. You then select the input you want to watch on your TV.

FAQ - Cables & Connections Cables & Connections

You can connect the current SD STB via the S-video or composite video connection since you say you'll be getting an HD STB (and analogue audio for the audio). If you have an AV Receiver, you'll need to connect audio to it separately or instead of to the TV.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks Guys...

Thanks so much for your Help & Info...
Things seem much clearer now...!!!
BUT...I`m sure I`ll be back with some more "Newbie" questions now and then...
This site is terrific...for an older guy like me...!!!
I am technically inclined, as I rebuild and restore old Vacuum Tube Radios/Amplifiers etc...But HDTV is all new to me...!!!
BTW...I do have an old Sony STR AV770 Receiver
that I`ll be connecting everything to for now.
*I`m going to upgrade to a 45 watts per channel Class A Integrated Tube Amplifier and a"High-End" SACD Player next year...
I am going to have one "Kick-Ass" Stereo and Home Theatre System eventually...!!!
Thanks again Guys...!!!

oldave...
oldave is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-08, 03:35 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,318
Check out the following post, useful for those "new" to the technology.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome