KDL46v2500 poor SD picture? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 01:49 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 3
KDL46v2500 poor SD picture?

I recently purchased a Sony Bravia 46" LCD1080p and after my first week with it i am disappointed with the SD picture. I have tried to follow the forums rules and search up issues and i have even called support for the cable company(Dishnetwork) and Sony as well as the store i purchased and nobody can seem to help improve the quality of the SD picture. It looks very grainy and pixelated. I have tried to adjust the settings multiple ways to no avail. I feel like i'm missing something or perhaps as the big box store CS states, "it's just that it is magnifying a poor signal". Why then does my 36" non HD look so much better? If the only time this TV beats my old tubes picture is on HD specific channels then perhaps i should just return it. seems to be a waste of $$$. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm as witts end and about to return the TV and just go back to my old tube 36". I'd even pay for someone to come out and correctly set it up if need be, but God knows where to find one of those people where i live.
Kapt Krunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 01:56 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
Your new HDTV is 60% larger than your previous TV. It is also much more accurate at showing you the faults with an SD signal. Have you seen the following thread?

FAQ - Why Does My HDTV Have Poor SD Picture Quality?

Check out the link for doing a proper setup - you can't simply "fiddle" with the settings, the calibration needs to be done in the proper order and with knowledge of what the particular settings do.

Dishnetwork is not a Cable company to my knowledge and their SD PQ may be poor on some channels. What is your location?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 3
Thanks yes i did read and know about the TV being bigger etc. and being able to show the faults, but it surprises me that my 36" tube has considerable better picture quality than the 46"LCD in SD channels. Yes the HD channels look brilliant, but unfortunately they are few and far between. I've tried to obtain the DVD to calibrate my tv, but can't find it anywhere locally in any store. I will have to order it online and perhaps it will help?

I did not realize there was a specific sequence in which you needed to follow to calibrate the TV. Dishnetwork is a Satellite provider in my area. Otherwise the cable TV company is Blue Ridge Cable, but we are not signed up with them. It is analogue to my knowledge and is there a way to increase that signal? I am using an HDMI cable from the box to the TV directly. Perhaps i will try to run the signal through my blue ray dvd player? I will continue to try to follow your lead. Thank God for this website. Otherwise this TV would be on its way back to the store. I just hope i can work it out.

Thanks for the help, it is much appreciated!
Kapt Krunch is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 02:27 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
You can't go "through" the Blu-ray player - it has no inputs. Your connection directly to the TV is appropriate.

Good luck with your calibration.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 3
Well i just ordered the Avia calibration dvd. Hopefully this will solve the problem.


Thanks again!
Kapt Krunch is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 03:31 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,474
Tips, as discussed here: FAQ - What You Need To Do To Your New HDTV

Turn off most/all edge enhancements (advanced menu).
Use "custom" picture mode if available
Reduce Sharpness

I believe the custom mode is stored separately for all inputs, so when you're finished calibrating one input, you'll need to transfer those settings to all other inputs you use, and perhaps tweak them by eye.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome