DLNA, anyone? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
DLNA, anyone?

Hi All,

My friend picked up a nice Pioneer plasma set, and we were quite surprised that the ethernet port on it let him connect it to his home network, and was for DLNA. He managed to play HD transport streams off his PC in his house.

Does anyone know of any LCD panels that have DLNA support? I've read the new Sharp Aquos SE94D's have an ethernet port, but that for crap like 'weather' or 'stocks', or is it for more?

Anyone?

Thanks,
SLam

HTPC|Aquos 52SE94U|Rogers SA8300HD|4.4 TB Raid-5 file server|FusionHDTV 5Gold|WinTV-PVR 350
slam_to is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-24, 01:56 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
The Sony Playstation 3 is DLNA enable, both wire and wireless.
rwlp2143 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-24, 08:27 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
According to the DLNA site there are 54 televisions that are DLNA certified devices and quite a few are LCD including Sony and Toshiba sets.

Didn't see any Sharp sets on the list
hugh is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-24, 12:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,152
I connected my Pioneer Plasma to my home network, and was very surprised when it automatically found my Vista PC, and all my video and graphic content! It found content scattered all over my computer, so I assume something was indexing and hosting it. It's pretty cool, but I'll have to read up on just how that works.

-Mike

Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-24, 02:00 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
so I assume something was indexing and hosting it.
Likely the Windows Media Player engine.

Have you got sharing enabled on Windows Media Player?
hugh is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-01-30, 11:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 112
Thanks for the link to the DLNA site Hugh, I should have thought of that first.

I tried calling Sharp today, and I stress "TRY". I didn't get through to anyone that knew. e-mail didn't help either. I think it's a safe bet that the new SE94's are not DLNA compliant. If they were, I'm sure they'd be advertising it like crazy. It's a shame. My new TV was either going to be a Sony or Sharp.

HTPC|Aquos 52SE94U|Rogers SA8300HD|4.4 TB Raid-5 file server|FusionHDTV 5Gold|WinTV-PVR 350
slam_to is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome