TV Only has 2 HDMI so I have to choose. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
TV Only has 2 HDMI so I have to choose.

Hi guys,

I have 3 units that can be hooked up to HDMI so I have to decide which of the 3 I will have to connect via Component cables.

Expressvu 6100 HD
Toshiba HD DVD Player
Sony Playstation 3 40gb

Actually the Expressvu is DVI - HDMI if that matters.
I do use the Toshiba a bit for upconverting DVD's I guess.

I just got the PS3 and haven't hooked it up yet.
I wanted to see what my best option would be from you smart guys.

Thanks in advance!
supercoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 05:12 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
I would recommend connecting the HD DVD and the PS3 via HDMI in order to preserve the upconverting capabilities of both players which can only be done via HDMI. I would use component to connect the 6100HD as you will not see any noticeable difference between component and HDMI.
Cyclism is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 05:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
You can get an HDMI 1.3 switcher for as low as $39 online at monoprice.
JesseJ is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 11:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
Oppo has a 3 input HDMI auto-switch for $99. It even includes a remote control, but it auto-switches too. A customer of mine had one and was very happy with it.

I saw a number of different HDMI switches at Future Shop as well. There were in the area with TV antennas.
JohnnyG is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
Which two will you use the most? We watch TV the most, so I would connect the STB with HDMI (I got a slightly sharper picture vs component).

The PS3 will up-convert DVDs, too, so you don't need the Toshiba just to do that.

Plus, if you start building up your BD collection, you'll have less need for the Toshiba .
Stargazer is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 12:39 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,479
Stargazer, the PS3 and the HD-DVD player only upconvert via HDMI, hence the appropriate suggestions by Cyclism in post 2. Via Component Video they only upconvert to 480p. Of course a switch is an option, but not really necessary in this case - the switch will also negate the possibility of optimum calibration of all inputs.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 01:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
That's why I recommended connecting the STB and PS3 with HDMI.

The OP stated that the Toshiba was for upconverting DVDs. If that's the case why use the Toshiba for upconverting, if the PS3 will do it for you plus more?

Also, since the PS3 is new it will probably get more use than the Toshiba, anyway.

Plus, I never said anything about using a switch. Sorry if I was unclear in my first post.

Last edited by Stargazer; 2008-01-22 at 01:38 PM.
Stargazer is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 04:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
It is extremely unlikely that you will notice any image degradation by connecting the ExpressVu receiver by component video (some even report an improvement). I don't believe you'd suffer any technical limitations in the receiver, either.
JohnnyG is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 11:00 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
I have a 55" Sony SXRD which has two HDMI inputs. I use the two for my PS3 and my PC (The VGA input on the TV has a limited resolution). I hook up the Cable PVR through component and it looks the same as when I had it hooked up with HDMI.

I was going to get an HDMI switch from monoprice and use my Harmony 880 remote to switch inputs but they're all out of stock so I went the above route.
pappcam is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 11:15 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Highlands
Posts: 773
Dell has a 4-Port HDMI Video Switch with Remote for $49.99 in today's DOD promotion.
Ham.Clan is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 12:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
$50 is a great price! Makes me wish I needed one!

Well, makes me wish I had an extra $50 to spend too
JohnnyG is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 03:26 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 38
Since switches have been mentioned, does anybody now if there is an optical switch out there that can be switched with a remote? Right now I am manually unplugging and plugging the optical cable from my STB to my 360.
hawkwind is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 03:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
Quote:
You can get an HDMI 1.3 switcher for as low as $39 online at monoprice.
Like I said before, there's an HDMI 1.3b switch, with remote, for $39 at monoprice. It's worth it.

Quote:
4X1 Enhanced 1.3b Certified HDMI Switch with built-in Equalizer and Remote (REV.3.0)
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
JesseJ is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-31, 02:29 PM
kai
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: downtown Toronto
Posts: 36
+1 on the above HDMI switch but I would get a 4x2 hdmi switch because of the 2 HDMI output to the TV. This way you can adjust the TV picture setting per hdmi input and you can assign sources to the individual picture setting as you SEE fit.

I tried the BEV 6100 with DVI-to-hdmi and it is a slight picture improvement...mainly the blacks were darker, but then you need a separate audio feed to the TV or AVR.

Elite 49TX,PMC FB-1,TB-2,DB-1,Tannoy,MitsXD200 DLP PJ, Panny Plasma, Samsung 5281 LCD,PS3,X360,Wii,Panny RP91,BEV 6100
kai is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-01-31, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, just west of the center of the Universe
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkwind View Post
Since switches have been mentioned, does anybody now if there is an optical switch out there that can be switched with a remote? Right now I am manually unplugging and plugging the optical cable from my STB to my 360.
I just purchased an optical splitter which from what I understand when used in reverse will allow it to work in esence as a auto switch - but you can only have one signal going thru at a time.

Am I getting new Sony?
Battscrew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome