Does splitting the cable degrade the signal to my HDTV? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Does splitting the cable degrade the signal to my HDTV?

Wondering if anyone can help me.

I pay Rogers for four outlets for cable. Two are used for tv (one regular digitial stbox, the other is their HDPVR stbox), one for my cable modem.

I have a newer house that is wired with lots of drops in the basement. None of them work so I'd like to split off one that does work (probably the one to the HDPVR) to have an outlet in the basement.

This outlet will go direct into the (older) TV - not through any digital cable box, stbox, etc.

Will this degrade the signal too much to my HDTV? I'm assuming a reasonably priced splitter and connections from Home Depot would do the trick?

Thanks!
foxadam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Seeing as you are already paying for extra outlets, I would just call Rogers, and have them do it
Unless they charge for it...
i hate tv is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
I just want to get it done and don't want to wait the 5+ business days to have someone out here for such a simple job.
foxadam is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 08:40 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Every split inside your house reduces signal strength.
hugh is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 08:47 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Make sure when terminating the cables not to let any metal braids touch the center conducter, it will mess with your signal
A 2way will lose 3.5 dbs, and most 3 ways will lose 3.5 on one leg, and 7dbs on the other 2 legs
The 4 way will lose 7dbs
If you can't wait, then go for it, but personally, I would wait, and let them do it
i hate tv is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Every split inside your house reduces signal strength.
Yes, I know this - sorry, should have been more specific. Will it reduce signal strength enough for me to notice a difference on my HDTV?
foxadam is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 09:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ottawa, Rogers
Posts: 555
I don't think so. It should work, why don't you try it out and see what you get?

Panasonic TH50PX60U / Denon AVR-990 / 8642HD PVR/ Panasonic DVD-S77 / Pioneer DV-563A / Playstation3 / Belkin PF60
lawman is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kawarthas
Posts: 78
Signal Strength

I'm not sure if you will see degradation in the picture or not.

For me, a less than optional signal strenth led to audio drop outs and me not being able to use the PVR as the signal would drop out and interrupt the recording.

I remember HD looking HD when the signal was coming through at enough strength, otherwise I had no reception or "blocks" of reception flashing on the screen. I guess the box either gets the signal and shows it on the TV, or it does not and you don't see it. I don't think low signal strength would make HD look like SD.

For me the bigger concerns I detailed above were the reason to have a cable co. rep come in and install a signal boost.

Just an FYI - my low signal strength was not due to splitting.

My "Stuff": Hitachi 51F500, Denon 889, PS3, Paradigm - CC390, Monitor 9's, Atom Monitors, HSU VTF3 MKII sub.
Dutchca is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-18, 11:58 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,425
With digital signals, you typically either get the channels, or you don't, with a marginal signal giving pixellation and audio dropouts. You can measure your signal strength and S/N ratio at the various TVs using a STB moved to that location. The acceptable settings (as well as other useful information) are discussed in the following thread. If you decide to purchase any splitters on your own, they should be rated 5-1000 MHz and bidirectional. Also, the broadband split needs to be the first split, using a two way splitter one tap to the modem. The other tap can then feed the other spitter you have for your TVs.

57 FAQ - Tips For SA (Cisco) STBs. (also Pace)

FAQ - Cable, Splitters


Please also see the following post, useful for newbies to the forum:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome