Display acting up... Samsung 4061F - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2007-12-24, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Display acting up... Samsung 4061F

I have noticed that at times, my screen display will aquire these tiny bright white spots, that will not go away unless I reboot the TV.

Also, getting some ( for lack of a better description ) skidmarks, that seem to be located in the areas/edges of where the OSD comes up for menu options pop-up on the screen. These are not always bright white as they are usually different colors, but again, they will not go away unless I turn the tv off and then back on.

I apologise that I cannot offer up proper terms for what I am seeing. I am still very new to the HD world.

I am using a Motorola DVR 505/StarChoice receiver.

Can anyone enlighten me on what would be causing this, and possibly offer up some suggestions on how to go about fixing?

Merry Christmas to all

Last edited by JimmyJazzCA; 2007-12-24 at 01:12 PM. Reason: Added a little more info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2007-12-24, 01:19 PM

Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
The "skid marks" (beside lettering) may be a result of improper settings of the TV. Please see the following few links which discuss the proper setup.

FAQ - What You Need To Do To Your New HDTV TV Setup.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum Newbie info

Perhaps with the proper setup these items will go away?

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2007-12-24, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Hello 57 and thank-you very much for your reply... Man, that was quick !

I don't think I explianed myself very well when attempting to describe the 'skid marks'.