Hello friends. A newbie has few general questions - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-23, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Hello friends. A newbie has few general questions

Hey there folks. Fortunately there are kind people like the owners of these forums who make it for newbs like me to get help about this topic. I personally get annoyed by salesman who just to try to push the most expensive item they have on shelf, regardless you need it or no.

Anyways, I have although very limited, but some sort of knowledge in this HDTV thingy. But there are still very few important things that I don't understand and is stopping me from buying HDTV. There is only 2 days left so hopefully you guys can answer before I go buy the TV on Boxing day which I have been waiting for almost 9 months. Please answer as many as you can.

1) Is it true that if you do not plan to play any "next-gen" platforms like ps3 and xbox360 and the only HD content will be coming from cable (or satellite), 1080p is pretty much NOT needed? The reason why I ask this is because I have been told that most broadcasts are done in 720p because it is very expensive to broadcast in 1920x1280 resolution because of bandwidth? Which leads me to my next question

2) If I live in Canada Toronto, and my provider is either Bell or Rogers, what output do these 2 companies use for HDTV? 720p or 1080p?

3) What can I do to make SD NOT look like crap on HDTV? I estimated that 75% of all things our family will watch will not be available in HD...so decent looking SD is kind of important. What can I do to ensure SD doesn't look like crap? Do I need to look for specific models/brands or do I need to buy some sort of addon?

4) My provider gives me some no-name HD cables with the terminal (not HDMI). Is it worth spppending $50-60 on HDMI cable if all I am going to be watching is just regular TV + HDTV and not play games or stream from computer?

5) When having several devices connected to TV, what order does it need to go with? For example if I have:

VHS
DVD Recorder
HD-DVD player
HDTV Receiver (the terminal from provider)

What order to they have to be in? Meaning...from the wall, the cable goes into Receiver, then from receiver goes to VHS player, from VHS player to DVD player, and so forth? Is there specific order (like VHS player has to come first or last or that sort of thing)

Please answer as many as you can. Every bit of info helps. Thank you very much
AirForceElite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-23, 09:10 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Welcome to the Digital Home Forums.

Perhaps it would be best to read the following linked FAQs. Many will answer your questions. After reading them and you have additional questions, please post in the appropriate forum.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30
Cyclism is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-23, 10:17 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,321
As indicated by Cyclism, your questions have been asked many times on this forum Let me direct you to the specific posts answering your questions.

1. Why 1080p?

2. FAQ - HDTV Formats

3. FAQ - Why Does My HDTV Have Poor SD Picture Quality?

4. FAQ - Cables & Connections and

Do I Need Luxury Cables?

5. See the first link in point 4. For the VCR or DVD recorder see:

FAQ - How to Connect a VCR, or DVD Recorder and STB Devices other than recorders are usually connected directly to the TV, or "through" the AVR to the TV. One would not likely daisy chain a STB-VCR-DVD Recorder, especially with an HDTV where VCRs are not used much once you see the image quality. If you want to connect the VCR for viewing only, it's simply another device connected directly to the TV.

Please ask specific, less varied questions in the appropriate forum/thread.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-23, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Both of you thank you very much for quick answers.
I don't want to make another thread asking why...but for question 2) which was about Rogers, the link that you provided did not adress Rogers, or am i just partially blind.

In this link: FAQ - HDTV Formats,

i saw BEV, StarChoice and Shaw but not Rogers.
I did however see 2 rogers channels in the 1080i list, but i don't think it means that every other rogers HD channel is also in 1080i, does it?

So to avoid making another thread, if I were to choose an HD provider, would I go with BEV or would I go with Rogers which apparently has 2 channels in 1080i and rest unknown yet
AirForceElite is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-23, 11:24 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Rogers, unlike some of the other service providers mentioned in the FAQ, passes the HD resolution of the original broadcaster, therefore the list provided in that FAQ. If the channel broadcasts in 720p, then Rogers transmits it in 720p. If the channel broadcasts in 1080i, then Rogers transmits it in 1080i. Hence no stipulation in the FAQ for Rogers HD Cable parameters.
Cyclism is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-24, 12:02 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,321
I suppose it could have been a little clearer, but it does (did) say:

Quote:
the cable companies "pass" the format directly to the STB
So, the service providers that change the signals are the ones that are highlighted. The service providers (like Rogers - as well as others like Videotron, Cogeco, etc) that do not change the signals were not highlighted.

I'll see if I can make the FAQ a bit clearer. Changed to:

Quote:
All cable companies (excepting Shaw) "pass" the broadcast format directly to the STB.

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome