Hook up cable to plasma - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 2
Hook up cable to plasma

The problem is that I have a Panasonic plasma TV model TH-42PHD8UK but not sure how to connect the cable to make it work. No cable plug in on my plasma. S video cale only.
Thanks
champagnma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:05 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,452
You need a cable set top box or VCR with a cable tuner.

The 8UK series of plasmas are "industrial" monitors.
jvincent is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gatineau Qc
Posts: 2
I have a combo unit with DVD and VCR. Where do I plug the cable and will the s video cable bring the signal to the TV.
Thanks
champagnma is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:14 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,486
You plug the RF-coax cable into the back of the combo (input), use the VCR to tune to the channel you want and use the composite video output (or S-video if that works) and analogue audio outputs to connect to a receiver or something for sound.

This is, however, SD, and probably pretty poor quality SD using an inexpensive analogue tuner in a combo VCR.

I suggest you consider feeding your HDTV some HD - You'll need a STB (set top box) for that if you have cable.

See the following post useful for newbies.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum


Also Cables & Connections:

FAQ - Cables & Connections

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:16 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
champagnma:

As jvincent has told you, the 8UK series of Panasonic Plasmas are industrial monitors with no built-in tuner. They don't even come with speakers unless purchased separately.

You can plug the cable from the wall into the Cable IN RF of your DVD/VCR unit. You can then use a composite cable (yellow), S-video, or even better, if your DVD/VCR unit has component video outputs (Red, Green, Blue) you should use that.

However, please be aware that all of those options will not give you a high-definition image from any of your sources.

For that you will need to get a HD set top box from your cable provider and subscribe to a HD channel package.

Please update your User Profile with your location and service provider so we can better help you with specifics.
Cyclism is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 07:18 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,452
Looks like I was slow on the reply since 57 and Cyclism beat me to it.
jvincent is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome