TVGOS in Canada - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Lightbulb TVGOS in Canada

Anyone know what station is the host channel for TVGuide OnScreen in Ontario??
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 12:00 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,414
It looks like CBC and SRC (CBLFT Toronto) gave back the equipment to Gemstar so I don't think TVGOS works up here. The one thread at DHC that had lots of TVGOS info seems to have died off and nobody responded to your question there, so I assume its gone cold up here.

Toshiba RDXS32/34/35 & TVGOS (TV Guide On Screen) Discussion
stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 12:17 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,306
In Calgary, it still works.. it is the CTV station. You might give CTV a try.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #4 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 12:26 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,414
magnet, is that through Shaw Cable? Sometimes the cable companies insert TVGOS into a station's VBI signals but I'm not sure if that's what is happening there.
stampeder is offline  
post #5 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
It does work in Ontario.
I am receiving Canadian data and apparently it is from CTV (analog ch. 9) including cable channel listings. I was given four choices in the setup, three cable providers and Bell Express View using a Toronto Postal Code.

Funny, there are program listings for the analog versions of the 'big 3' down here (NBC, CBS & ABC), but for their 'digital' versions, it come up "No listing".

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-11-29 at 01:29 PM.
videobruce is offline  
post #6 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-11-29, 01:10 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,414
But you're not getting it OTA though, right? There are posts about getting it on Rogers cable, so its possible Rogers is inserting it into the VBI blanking on analogue channels.
stampeder is offline  
post #7 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-01, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Quote:
But you're not getting it OTA though, right?
Yes I am. It surely isn't from cable.

When the Guide IDs' the location you get this screen;


The next page gives you these choices using a Toronto Postal Code (I choosed Rodgers Toronto);


OTA Canadian listings (CFTO & CBC are off the screen and I forgot to include ch 55);

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-12-01 at 12:30 PM.
videobruce is offline  
post #8 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-01, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Here are some screen shots from the internal diagnostic menus of TVGOS.

System info (2nd line shows V8 of the guide);


System statistics (notice the "Host channel" and the "VBI channel" are input 1 (which is the 2nd RF input, first is '0' and is on cable) and ch. 9);


Input config (2 RF inputs);


Recording history (I have two AVHDDs');

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-12-01 at 12:32 PM.
videobruce is offline  
post #9 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-01, 01:26 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,414
Yep, I see the Host and VBI channels listed as 1.0:9 so I'm going to go out on a limb and suggest that it refers to CFTO 9 in Toronto's first carrier. I hope that helps, Bruce... (?)
stampeder is offline  
post #10 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-01, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
The "1" is the input number, in this case the 2nd input and "0:9" is the analog version of ch. 9 (I believe that is the way it goes).
The whole menu is hexadecimal which I don't even try to read.
videobruce is offline  
post #11 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-03, 07:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Come on, no one has a device that uses TVGOS??
videobruce is offline  
post #12 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-11, 01:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 280
I am using TVGOS with my Toshiba XS35 DVD player. The only way I am able to get it to work is to have analog cable sent directly to the DVD player before it hits the STB. I could not get it to work from the STB. I am also of the understanding that it is not available from ExpressVu (yes? no?).

It's great when recording analogue signals, but useless when you want to record digital from the STB. Have to create manual recording sessions.

As it can't be used in conjunction with a cable or satellite box, I don't see the value in TVGOS.
Rideauman is offline  
post #13 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-11, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Quote:
I could not get it to work from the STB.
Correct, it won't.
It was designed for a on screen viewing guide to replace the paper edition and to use with AV-HDD devices (which I have two) and D-VHS recorders that have a 1394 connection.
videobruce is offline  
post #14 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-12, 02:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rideauman View Post
As it can't be used in conjunction with a cable or satellite box, I don't see the value in TVGOS.
My Panasonic HDD-PVR came with an IR blaster so that it could be used with a cable box. It works fine recording all of the shows displayed in the guide (analog and digital).
Stargazer is offline  
post #15 of 470 (permalink) Old 2007-12-12, 12:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 338
I use TVGOS on Rogers in Mississauga. It is on CBLFT (Cable 12) and it has a complete guide. Some time in the middle of the year, they switched something in the guide and I had a hard time getting it to sync (I switched back to OTA which is CFTO 9). After a few weeks of mucking around, I managed to get it working. I look forward to the day when guide services can be downloaded from the internet (over Wi-Fi if available).
jeneral is offline  
Reply

Tags
shaw , tv guide

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome