LG 42LC7D Issue With Menu Popping UP - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-06-23, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
LG 42LC7D Issue With Menu Popping UP

Has anyone with the LG 42LC7D LCD television had any issues with the Menu popping up randomly? I also have the problem when the Menus are popping that no other control on the remote works. I have taken the battery out of the remote control and it still happens. I have also taken all other remotes out of the room to make sure they are not interferring, but the Menu still pops up.

Is anyone aware of any "special codes" or anything that can be done to try and reset this?
st8duk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-06-23, 04:56 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,320
Check out the following thread - it MAY help.

Is your LCD (or Plasma, or other stuff) affecting your STB or PVR?

Do you have any compact flourescent lightbulbs?

See: Things to check first. Items 13, 16.

Sometimes there is simply a problem with the TV though...

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-07-03, 09:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Same Problem with 42LC7D

I have had the 42LC7D for two weeks now, and have encountered the same problem, did you find a solution?
sockermac is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-07-05, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 16
2 thing to keep in mind !
1) Set the Clock in the Menu for the TV
2) Run Auto Program and let it cycle thru completely even though you are using a settop box
Should fix it!
kashf1 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-07-08, 02:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I did both steps that kashf1 listed the day I got mine 2 weeks ago, and never had the problem you posted.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-07-10, 08:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
After 3 weeks of working fine mine started the same issue - menu popping up and no remote or manual controls work. It works again for a little while after being off overnight but then same thing starts. Has anyone heard of the cause/fix or is it just a return the TV issue? LG and BB are no help.
Roo2 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-07-11, 08:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
Oops. My bad. I have the 32LC7D.

Time for an eye exam.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-08-11, 01:31 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
I am having the same problem with my 42LC7D. It started yesterday. I bought the TV on the 31st of May, and its alreay giving me this problem. Has anyone found the fix yet? I have LG Scheduled to come out in a week or so, but just wanted to see if someone knew something.

Thanks
Chris
cmoon1498 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-08-20, 09:25 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
I've had my 42LC7d for a week and am encountering the menu problem. Going to try the set clock/run auto programming fix reported here above by kafsh and will let everyone know my result! thanks!
sc813 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-08-21, 12:07 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
SC813,

This is a problem you won't be able to fix. LG knows about it. Give them a call. They sent a tech out who fixed my TV. They have to replace the whole mainboard. The tech said what happened was that they received the wrong capacitors from Mitsubishi, and they are shorting down, and once they are shorted, the TV has no filtering, and eventually dies... They have since changed the design of the mainboard, and is supposed to have a little better performance as well.
cmoon1498 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-08-24, 07:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Unhappy thanks, cmoon

Cool - the tech's coming down today since my problem has gotten worse since my last post. Right now, the set is unplugged because the thing's been turning itself on and off. Sheesh!! Two weeks I've had this thing ...

PS - couldn't set the clock or auto program anyhow because even the hardwired buttons on the side of the set are malfunctioning. My wife's afraid our set is going to go sentient, take over SkyNet and blow up the world (that's for all you Terminator fans out there)

Last edited by sc813; 2007-08-24 at 07:39 AM. Reason: punctuation ... plus our little terminator relate
sc813 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2007-08-25, 02:04 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Unhappy End of our LG road

Well, we had the Best Buy tech come to the house. And he confirmed what everyone in this thread already knew: the set needs a new main board. A week to get it in, a week after that for another service appt.
That would mean we would have had the set for a month and for three out of those four weeks, it's unplugged from the wall and unusable.
Needless to say, we balked at the repair, returned the LG and exchanged for a Philips 42" LCD. I'm abstaining from checking the boards for about a month - want to live at least that long in a blissfully ignorant state that we're going to have this one for a good long ... well, let's just leave it at that.
sc813 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome