Burn-in: Discuss this issue here only - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 12:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 158
Burn-in: Discuss this issue here only

Almost all of the TV ads on the HD channels are SD. SO I was wondering what you guys do to avoid burn in of those black bars on the sides everytime you get 2-3 min of sd Tv ads.

Last edited by hugh; 2006-12-19 at 11:24 AM.
Deathlok2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 12:54 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,312
They're not on long enough to cause burnin. As long as the bars are not used constantly for all programming, that should not occur.
But I do know of someone who viewed HD in the 4:3 settings and wondered why there was burnin after 9 months. Sad!
jbracing24 is offline  
post #3 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 01:09 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,453
Please read the Digital Home FAQ on Burn in below:

FAQ - Burn In & Break In.

You will see that occasional black bars or logos are acceptable and that you should not be paranoid about burn in, but be aware of it so that you don't get it.

Also, if your TV is set up properly, you're not as likely to get burn in.

Relax. If you're watching varied programming, you'll be fine.

It's people who watch a lot of 4:3 upconverts or have the TV on CNN all day that should be worried.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 01:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 158
Yes, I read the faqs burn in........ I do NOT watch ANY NON HD material on my TV. If I do, Its stretch on Sd channels, never upconverted sd on hd channels with those black bars.


I usually switch channels during the sd TV ads to pbs or some other HD channel for those 2-3 min.

I have all my settings at 50% ( contrast etc)... I have a RP HDTV.

I do play xbox 360 on this TV.
Deathlok2001 is offline  
post #5 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 01:24 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathlok2001 View Post
I usually switch channels during the sd TV ads to pbs or some other HD channel for those 2-3 min.
I think you're going overboard in your concerns. Get yourself a DVR and avoid the commercials.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 01:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 158
I have the shaw HD PVR box. You still get teh TV ads when you record.
Deathlok2001 is offline  
post #7 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 01:41 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,453
Yeah, but you can zip past them in a few seconds.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 158
True dat.
Deathlok2001 is offline  
post #9 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 12:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,793
I have a RP CRT and I was initially worried about burn-in on non 16x9 material. However, I have since set the contrast and brightness to sub 50% levels and have not worried about it since.

I watch mostly HD channels but even on the SD channels I am not concerned. The only time I get a little worried is during the weekends if the TV happens to be on for long periods of time on SD material.

I have not had a problem so far and I don't think I will.

Ordinarily he was insane, but he had lucid moments when he was merely stupid.
Proteosome is offline  
post #10 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 12:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Rogers)
Posts: 1,611
How about a poll?

With all the discussions in various threads regarding burn-in, why don't we launch a poll. Ask - when did you start experiencing burn-in ?

1. within 6 months
2. within 1 year
3. within 2 years
4. after 5 years
5. after 10 years
6. none so far
Larry is offline  
post #11 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-09-19, 06:53 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kitchener, ON (Rogers Customer)
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry View Post
6. none so far
I've had my CRT RPTV since June 6th 2000, and I have no burn in whatsoever. The tube is showing it's age, but there's been no burn-in...and I've used it for everything from video games (but not obscenely excessive playing), 4x3 TV, and hooked up to an HTPC.

To be fair, since I didn't have HDTV service until 3 years ago, most of what I watched was DVD's, but I mean, if you use a bit of sense, you'll be fine.

Toshiba 62HM84 | SA 8300HD | HD-DVD/Blu-ray HTPC | XBox360 | Playstation 3
Denon AVR-2807 | URC MX-650
nathan is offline  
post #12 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-10-18, 06:53 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
DLP burn-in from lots of 4:3 viewing?

Sorry for newbie question: I've got a Toshiba DLP 44HM85 and my family insists on watching it in 4:3 (analog cable) with black bars on the sides of the screen.
Would that cause a burn-in over a long period of time or not?
AgentCooper is offline  
post #13 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-10-18, 06:57 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saskatoon, Shaw Cable
Posts: 684
No. DLP's are not subject to Burn In
Robobob is offline  
post #14 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-10-18, 07:23 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,453
For more information, see the Digital Home FAQs (under help)

- Burn In
- What you need to do to your new HDTV
- ETc.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #15 of 208 (permalink) Old 2006-10-20, 12:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 728
There is a possibilty that individual DLP micromirrors can get stuck due to a memory effect in the hinges. This happens if the mirror is used at high duty cycles away from 50% in either direction. Therefore, if black is displayed continuously for long periods of time the mirror may stick to black. The same applies for white.

However, the chances of this happening over the lifetime of the set are slight.

For detailed information, check out the whitepapers from the bottom pulldown at this site:

http://www.dlp.com/dlp_technology/default.asp
scotta is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome