Couple of questions about professional calibration - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Couple of questions about professional calibration

I just purchased this TV the other day and I have been blown away.Every since making the jump to HD six or 7 years ago, I had it in my head that LCD was the only way to go.However after several bad experiences with a variety of brands, I decided to give plasma a go, and I couldn't be happier. I think I really did my research with this make/model. Everything is unbelievably vibrant and natural looking in a way I never even knew was possible.

When I purchased the TV ( From a Future Shop, in Canada) the guy there kind of talked me into getting a calibration, which, if I am correct, would be from a third party that they have an arrangement with.The cost of the calibration is 100 dollars ( supposedly knocked down from 300).

i understand that there is a break in period of around 100 hours and I am probably around the 20 hour mark so far.I have never had a TV calibrated before and I have some questions about the process.I apoligize in advance for the noobish nature of these questions, but I have already asked around on several forums and I haven't gotten a straight answer out of anyone. I thank you in advance for your patience and helpfulness.

1.Will having it calibrated void my warrenty?( I plan on emailing samsung about this, but if you guys could tell me what is generally the case I would apprecieate it.)

2.Will it result in my TV consuming more, or less energy, and will it contribute to my set either lasting longer or shorter?

3. Is there a type of viewing material that would benefit most from calibration? The. ain reason I bought this Tv is for gaming, and I'm wondering would a calibration make sense for gaming? It seems to me that it would be less desirable than it would be for other mediums.

4. Supposing that I go through and get the calibration, and I dislike it, is it possible for me to fully undo the changes that were made?


Again, sorry for such a long post, but I put alot of time and energy into finding the right TV for me, and I don't want to do a calibration without fully understanding the risks.
SpankysOddessy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 12:38 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,433
1. No

2. Typically less. Depends on the picture mode/settings you're currently using.

3. Everything benefits. Gaming probably less since it's not quite as "real".

4. Sure, just go back to the picture mode/settings you had. I've not known anyone to "go back". It's easy to compare when the optimization is done and a good optimizer can show you the differences, benefits, etc.


Here's the FAQ on Optimization:

FAQ - What You Need To Do To Your New HDTV


There is no need for break in - see the following FAQ. Burn in at the start, break in at the bottom.

FAQ - Burn In & Break In.


Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc.

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

These answers should all be "straight".

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 12:43 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Coquitlam, B.C., ARRIS Gateway, Panny TC-P65VT50, Panny Blu-ray BDT320PC, Denon AVR-1913
Posts: 126
In answer to your four questions:

1. No
2. Probably not.
3. All materials will benefit
4. If done properly you will not want to go back.

By calibrating your TV (ISF) the main calibration is done in setting up your grey scale properly. (90% of video information is in grey scale and not in colour) It will be set up to the environment that you will be watching it in, your living room for example. DO NOT compare your TV to one that is in the store and has torch mode activiated. (high contrast, high brightness, etc.). Also $100.00 is a very good price to have this done. Good Luck!
Roweig is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-04-19, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Thank you both very much.
SpankysOddessy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome