How do i do this ? (TV to AVR) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: world, U.K. England
Posts: 3
How do i do this ? (TV to AVR)

Could you please help me , i have just bought an L.G.T.V. 32" LH3000 Model .

I had a tv before ( sony triniton ) and i used to connect the tv to the stereo using red and white ports that were on the back of the tv and the sound would come out of the stereo speakers .

But when i connect them to the new tv no sound comes out of the stereo speakers .

At the back of tv it says " Audio in ( RGB DVI ) "
and the other one says " optical digital audio out " do i need to get a cable that has the red and white connectors at one end , to go in to the stereo , and another sort of connector to go in to " optical digital audio out " or the one that reads" audio in ( RGB DVI ) "

Thanks for any advise , i am not good with things like this .
RAY0711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 02:08 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,808
According to the specs., your new TV does not have analogue audio outputs. You could use a "digital audio-to-analogue stereo" converter - such as this one - or, if your receiver supports it, you could run your source (cable box, DVD, etc.) through your receiver for audio, and run video out to your TV.
eljay is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 02:17 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,479
If your AVR (Audio Video Receiver) has an optical input, you could connect the optical output from the TV to the input on the AVR. You can't use the TV inputs, as they are inputs, not outputs.

One other option if you don't have an optical connection on the AVR is to use the TV's headphone jack and purchase a cable that converts the headphone output to the red/white analogue audio cables (Y-connector)

I looked at the specs on the TV and didn't see any analogue audio (red/white) outputs.

If you have devices connected to the TV, you could connect those directly to the AVR for audio as suggested by eljay.

See also the following FAQ relating the optical TV output...

FAQ - What's Available in DD5.1 (bolding)

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 02:23 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
ray0711, have you reviewed your owners manual. Honestly, I have not seen a television manual in the last 5 years that doesn't have a manual which shows diagrams of how to set up your television.

What does your manual say?
hugh is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: world, U.K. England
Posts: 3
First of all thanks to you guys , that was quick , i do have a manual , but as i said i am no good with these problems , as you said that my new tv has no analogue out puts , i mean the red and white ports , they are there and i just took it for granted that the red and white ports at back of tv are for connecting the tv to my stereo speakers .

So the red and white ports are for something else , ok guys , thanks and thanks again .



Raymond .
RAY0711 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 03:06 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,808
Looking at a high-res pic of the back of the TV, I see:
- "AV IN" - composite video plus left+right (red+white) analogue audio inputs;
- "COMPONENT IN" - component video plus left+right analogue audio inputs;
- "HDMI / DVI IN" - HDMI (audio+video) and DVI (video only) inputs;
- "RGB IN (PC)" - a computer (video only) connection;
- "AUDIO IN (RGB/DVD)" - digital audio input from your PC or your DVD player;
- "OPTICAL DIGITAL AUDIO OUT" - digital audio output;
- "RS-232C IN (CONTROL & SERVICE)" - data connection;
- "ANTENNA / CABLE IN" - your cable connection.

The "red and white ports" are clearly labelled as inputs, not outputs.
eljay is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: world, U.K. England
Posts: 3
ok

Thanks Eljay good job i asked you guys . I was about to send it back to the shop .


i know now .





Raymond .
RAY0711 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2009-09-10, 03:18 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,808
Glad to help...although that doesn't give you the outputs you're looking for...

eljay is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome