built-in digital recievers?? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
built-in digital recievers??

Hi all,
I'm wondering if anyone can give me some insight into how the built-in digital reciever in my Sharp Aquos 42" works. When I bought my t.v it picked up about 6 digital channels from my cable line, at least I think that is where the channels came from. That lasted about six months then the t.v. was unable to decode the channels anymore. Is there any way to program my t.v. to decode these channels without getting a digital or h.d. box from my provider? I realize the cable companys must encode their digital channels due to these built-in recievers but is there a way to circumvent this?
Thank for your input,
Cheers!!
vernont is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 03:24 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
No there is no way to pirate encrypted QAM signals.

From the rules of our forum that you agreed to when you signed up.

Quote:
No piracy discussions - discussion of how to pirate satellite or cable signals or discussion of how to engage in illegal activities such as software and music piracy and other intellectual property violations are not allowed. Encouraging others to engage in piracy or posting links to sites that engage in such activity or promote such activity is also prohibited.
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-08-14, 03:36 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 53,482
See the following FAQ on encrypted QAM:

FAQ - Can I get Digital Cable (and HD) Using My QAM Tuner?


See the following post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

HDTV Frequently Asked Questions: Please read this before posting in the forum

57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2009-08-22, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks 57. Your link was very useful.
vernont is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome