Chrome vs. Firefox - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 2017-10-13, 02:32 PM Thread Starter

Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Chrome vs. Firefox

I've been using Firefox for probably 10+ years. My philosophy has always been to utilize the same software until there is an important-enough reason to change, because change comes with costs in time, learning curve, etc. This can be doubly important for my wife, who is less computer-literate.

I also use Safari for certain websites and I have the two browsers set up differently to go to certain websites for certain reasons.

Rogers may stop supporting Firefox (for certain applications), so I'm looking at changing from Firefox to Chrome as my main browser. I may keep FF on the computer, mostly unused.

I'm posting this in the Apple forum because I use a Mac Mini and a MacBook Pro, but I don't believe the platform matters much for browsers.

I'm looking for feedback from those who changed from FF to Chrome and what is good (or bad) about Chrome and what they miss about FF, if anything.

I assume that once downloaded Chrome will "pick up" the bookmarks from Firefox?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 2017-10-13, 02:40 PM

Yes Chrome will import your bookmarks. I like that you can mute individual tabs in FF. Not sure if there is an addon for that in Chrome. I use Chrome probably 80% of the time FF 19% and others the remaining 1%

LOSat
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 2017-10-13, 06:31 PM

At home I use Linux 95% of the time and Windows 5% of the time.