Plex - Media Player / Center - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 2011-02-06, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Plex - Media Player / Center

Don't know if this has been mentioned before but in my quest to find a better 1080p stream player I stumbled upon something called Plex.

It works on OS X (I've confirmed this) and iOS.

It seems to be based on XBMC (much of the same functions) and is by far the best HTPC interface I've seen (not that I've seen many though).

It streams 1080p videos from my Popcorn Hour wirelessly (wireless-N) without a hitch. Before this mplayer was my choice for doing this but the newer versions are having issues with it.

It's a little heavy duty as a simple media player but the extra weight is more than worth it - at in my opinion.
notsure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 2011-02-06, 09:02 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,207
I have been running Plex since version 8. I have it on a Mac Mini in my home theater and it works great. I use the Aeon Skin which is very nice. I also run it on a JB Apple TV2 now in the bedroom since yesterday and it runs quite well. It runs as a front end and streams from either my Mini which runs PMS or the iMac which also runs PMS.

I have tried XBMC and Boxee but always come back to Plex. I do wish Plex ran on the 1st generation Apple TV but I believe it was a choice for the dev's not to get it running on it.

It runs great with media from my NAS (Acer Easystore) running WHS.
QuickSilver is online now  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 2011-03-07, 11:39 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Vital
Posts: 32
Cool

Love Plex as a media player. I'm also reading my drives through an Extreme N router. Sometimes I connect my MBP to my LCD TV. I recently helped a family member hookup XBMC on his laptop-TV he's happy with it but I prefer PLEX for the Media Manager.

I also use the PLEX app on my iPod. The app works as advertised.

Cheers MacHeads
mac2crack is offline  
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 2011-03-18, 12:59 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 210
Sounds interesting.

So it will run on the new Apple TV but no the hard drive based ATv? Odd.

I intend to try Boxee hack on my ATv at the cabin. From what I have seen, though, I minght prefer the Plex if it would work...
dufferdan is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 2011-04-09, 12:49 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brampton - 20" Canadian Tire Electrohome Turn Dial TV; BetaMax; 386sx20mhz w/ 256 colours!
Posts: 243
The ATV version is an unsupported hack and not that awesome. If you have an iOS device though the AirPlay on the apple tv makes this kind of unnecessary.

XBOX & PS3: ArcAngelMD Wii: When I find a pen
Arc|Angel is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 12:27 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I am interested in possibly running Plex on a Mac Mini in my family room. I was running Boxee on my JB ATV1 which is great for .avi files but when I try to play .mp4 files it chugs.

My idea was to use Front Row but I understand that is gone in Lion so I thought I would install Plex on a mac mini and have it source files from my Windows Home Server 2011.

My question (in addition to "does this make sense") is will the Apple remote control Plex so I can have it operate as a ten foot interface?
hugh is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 12:38 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,041
it does

I prefer to use the Remote app on my ipod/iphone though, but you can use the silver remote np

just remember though, Plex limits you to bitrates of 7k

Last edited by Tikker; 2012-01-19 at 12:39 PM. Reason: added info
Tikker is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 12:45 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,207
I use Plex on a Mini and an Acer WHS box. I run the server and client on the mini. The WHS serves up 4 shares (Movies, Music Concerts, Kids Movies and TV Shows). It has been running quite well after tweaking things to my liking. On my iMac I can update the mini by going to the mini IP address and the plex homepage it serves. I find sometimes the automatic updating does not occur after adding files to my WHS.

I have not updated to myPlex yet as I have no need for it. I also use the Logitech Harmony One with it and it works very well. I have used the Apple remote in the past so you should have no problems Hugh.
QuickSilver is online now  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 12:51 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
just remember though, Plex limits you to bitrates of 7k
I'm sorry but you lost me with that.

I have some .mp4 files (created with Hauppauge PVR) with bitrates of 10 mbps. Are you saying that I won't be able to play them through Plex on the Mac Mini?
hugh is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,041
I might be smooshing 2 issues together, but I know for sure that streaming something like that to the ATV's causes issues (maybe just on mkv tho?)

I know I've definitely run into at home, but not with a mac mini
Tikker is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-19, 01:53 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
QuickSilver / tikker, thanks for the feedback.

Your positive comments will get me to try out Plex on my kids iMac. If I'm satisfied then I will consider getting the imac mini.
hugh is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-01-20, 01:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,041
it's quick and easy to install

fairly intuitive to get going, and it looks beautiful in action


as long as none of the niggling little issues are showstoppers, you'll likely be very satisfied
Tikker is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 10:24 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Just thought I would update.

I've been running Plex now for about eight months. I've had my issues but overall its been great.

I have the server software running on my Windows Home Server. Clients include iPad, mac mini (yes I bought it), Windows PC's, WDTV Live and PS3.

I don't use the PS3 since the interface is terrible but the rest are excellent.

Works great with .wtv files also so my OTA recordings are dumped into a Recordings library so every device in the house has access to OTA.
hugh is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-09-27, 11:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,079
Hugh does this mean you are using Plex instead of the Media sharing capabilities of WHS, or are you using both?
j0dest3r is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 2012-09-28, 07:26 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Just Plex
hugh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome