ON - Vaughan/Richmond Hill/Markham/North of 407 - OTA - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-08-25, 07:35 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterford, Ont
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99gecko View Post
anybody know how much "Round-Up" I would need to bring down a 50 year-old maple? - just kidding
About 10 minutes worth if applied with a chainsaw

Panasonic PT47WX53, Humax HFA100, Denon AVR 1610 surround, CM4228 Antenna, WD TVlive
tricky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 12:50 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,579
preliminary results

First off; A Big Huge Thank You to all who replied with input to my earlier questions in other threads - you know who you are cause your always posting!!

Got the cm4221 today - thanks

Had no chance to mount on chimney so tried a quick test - just couldn't wait

- antenna sitting on roof (bungalo) leaning against chimney @ about 45 degree incline, bottom edge of reflector almost touching the aluminum eavestrough
- antenna pointing ~ 180 degrees - estimate ~ slightly west of Buffalo
- feed into 25' of rg59, then into ~20' rg6 (exising run from satellite), then into ~25' rg59, all but one connection using cheap-o connectors
- receiver = Samsung T451

results until I get a chance to get on the roof...
channel received : mapped to : strength (bars out of 10)

WGRZ-HD : 2.1 : 7~8
WGRZ-SD : 2.2 : 7
WIVB-HD : 4.1 : 4~6 intermittant
SD-RADAR : 4.2 : 6
WNLO-SD : 4.3 : 6
CBLT-DT : 5.1 : 10
WIVB-HD : 23.1 : 6
SD RADAR : 23.2 : 6 same as 4.2 ?????
WNLO-SD : 23.3 : 4~6
CBLFT-D : 25.1 : 10
WNED-HD : 43.1 : 6
WNED-SD : 43.2 : 6
WNED-TH : 43.3 : 5~6
DTV (CTV??) : 40.1 : 10; had to add manually/not autodetected

not sure what the true broadcast channels are since I haven't figured out out to disable re-mapping on the T451, if it is even possible. Maybe I'll get used to it (remapping) by the time the CRTC shutsdown analogue.... i.e. when hell freezes over....... lets hope they don't take DT with it!!

Now to convince my neighbours that the missing (but modified) part of their chain-link fence, thats for some reason sitting on my roof, is not actually used for listening in on their conversations/contacting aliens/etc............

!! All-in-all, I'm pumped-up pleased !!

Will post results when I get the gear intalled correctly but might be a quite a while yet.

cheers,
99gecko

p.s. hope this helps any others starting out - reading other DHCer's posted results is actually quite helpful
99gecko is offline  
post #78 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 09:10 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Smithville, ON
Posts: 793
hmm I wonder If you'll need a rotor to pull in th weak stations from their respective cities.
026163 is offline  
 
post #79 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 09:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by 026163 View Post
hmm I wonder If you'll need a rotor to pull in th weak stations from their respective cities.
maybe, but I'll wait and to see when I get the antenna permantley mounted properly - correct elevation, declination, and pitch.

edit to previous post - forgot last run: 5' of rg6 after last length of rg59 total run (4 pieces) ~75'.
99gecko is offline  
post #80 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 10:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
99gecko that is pretty decent results for being against the chimney at a 45' angle, any pictures of it resting against the chimney.

Anyway with the antenna at a 45' angle you are losing lots of directional gain. At 30' the antenna is already down 15db of signal gain. On elevation the 4221 needs to be within 5-7.5' of being vertical.

Once you get it up on to the pole and vertical your results will be a lot better.

Try and use one straight RG6 cable.

If your cable run is a total of 75' a preamp will help with some of that cable loss. I have found that with a 4221 and using less than 50-60' feet is about the limit.

From his location no rotor is needed my parents live very close to east of Markham Rd and gets all the stations in the 90's with no preamp.

Have friends north of 16th between Kennedy and 9th and they all use 4221 with great results.

Towards 9th line and 16th using a Winegard AP4700 on a Samsung 451 10 out of 10 on all channels except Sun 7-8 bars with 9db of attenuators.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2006-09-06 at 11:03 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #81 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 10:55 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Smithville, ON
Posts: 793
you must have your relatives on OTA yaamon
026163 is offline  
post #82 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 11:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by 026163 View Post
you must have your relatives on OTA yaamon
:d Ha-ha, how did you guess, yes my parents live in Markham same house from 1976 where I used to live.

Most of my relatives and lots of friends live in Markham.

Once they have a HD ready or tv with built in atsc tuner its no no brainer to get antenna for free uncompress HD tv expect for Pbs(quality ).

I usually recommend the antenna setup and most have.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #83 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 12:46 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Just a tip for 99gecko: like Yaamon said, look into running one single RG6 cable. You are losing quite a bit of signal with the RG59 sections as is, but also at every connection. Even just replacing only those RG59 sections with RG6 will cost signal because of the connectors, which are also a possible physical point of failure, so see if you can go the whole replacement route and you'll be getting the best signal and durability as you can.
stampeder is offline  
post #84 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 02:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,579
thanks stampeder,
Current set up is just for testing antenna and receiver functionality, 1rst run of rg6 is on "temporary loan" from BEV. I have lots of spare rg6 but I don't want to cut any lengths until I see where final antenna placement will be & whether I can avoid punching additional hole in the basement wall for it. good to remind me about avoiding connectors - I remembered the db loss issue, but forgot about future faults .

Yaamon,
final run of rg6 will be under 40'.
I will try and get pics up later this week. However I took antenna down overnight (placed up again this morning before work, but in slightly diff spot) - wasn't sure about the weather and sometimes neighbours' cats get on my roof in the early mornings- didn't want any accidents .

I will post before/after pics in the Installations thread when all done. Have to wait until I solve problem of grounding away from natural gas lines.... but that's another story which I'll post (with pics) in that thread when all is done as well.
99gecko is offline  
post #85 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 03:32 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 245
OTA at Thornhill Woods - Autumn Hill and Pleasent Ridge area

Hello, forum!

I've been reading the thread for simetime now and finally decided to give it a try, so I went to Future Shop and picked up this indoor RCA Amplified antenna (CANT501), connected it to Dish Network 811 box with built in ATSC tuner and scanned. All I was able to pick (Thornhill Woods - Autumn Hill and Pleasent Ridge area, main floor, south side of the house) was 5, 23 and 57. Couldn't lock on 23, but was able watch 5 and 57 with lots of digital noise.

Now if I'll get one of those CM4221, DB8, etc outdoor antennas and put it on the south wall of the house below the eaves what I will be able to get?

For some reason I have not seen even a single UHF antenna in Thornhill Woods. Is there a bylaw or something else to be aware of?

Thanks in advance!
fooit is offline  
post #86 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 03:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Markham -- Bayview & Steeles
Posts: 257
I'm using the CM4228 in Thornhill. You're north & west of me and the CM4228 has more gain than the CM4221.

I get all the Buffalo channels (except 49-1) and all the Toronto channels.

I doubt if anybody in the GTA currently gets 49-1.

An indoor ant will probably only get the local Toronto channels which I'm surprised you didn't get.
intrac is offline  
post #87 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 04:25 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Smithville, ON
Posts: 793
what do you mean by digital noise?

yes you should be picking at least all the Toronto locals with an indoor. If your not getting locks on CBC, CTV, SUNTV and CITY, your certainly not getting your 70$ worth from that antenna.

Have you already played with it, moving around the ears, putting it at different heights, angles positions in your house?

intrac, there are a some people in the GTA who can receive WNYO 49-1 (a few on this forum) but you could say they all went 'overboard' on their antenna gear. Most people in Buffalo are unable to recieve WNYO, their own local station.
026163 is offline  
post #88 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-06, 04:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
026163 who can receive WNYO 49-1 and went overboard.

99geckoa tip for you if your antenna is going to be near your bell dish use Diplexers. That way you do no have to run a extra cable into your house.

You can then use a RG6 cable from the antenna to the Diplexers outside and then one inside where your sat receiver and tv is. I have used them many of times without any noticable signal loss. On a Sony tv if its gets 93% it drops to what 92%.

fooit most likely you will not get the best recpetion if the antenna is going to be below the eves. Surely you will get better reception than what you have now.

The best reception will be against a chimney with a pole or near the peak of your roof with a tripod type mount.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #89 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-07, 12:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooit View Post
For some reason I have not seen even a single UHF antenna in Thornhill Woods. Is there a bylaw or something else to be aware of?
Welcome to the home of the enlightened.

Your area is new homes. All of which have been built since the advent of cable and dbs (whose marketing has been stellar). Just drive south into some of North York older subdivisions and take a look at rooftops...

Check with your city's (not sure if you are Vaughan or Markham) by-laws on their website, or just call the city's by-law office. I'm not sure they would retrict the height, but they may have set-back requirements. I know for a fact markham has set-back requirements for satellite dishes.

someone with experience (Stampeder/Yammon etc.) could tell you if you'll have problems getting Buffalo without overpowering your Toronto signals, since CN Tower and GI are probably almost in straight vector for you.

I work near to your area, and I believe that it's got reasonable elevation.

Good luck!
99gecko is offline  
post #90 of 2405 (permalink) Old 2006-09-12, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dufferin/Rutherford Concord
Posts: 10
Dufferin Hills Vaughan- can I expect Fox?

Good morning!!

Firstly, in my first post since registering, I want to say thanks to all-I've been reading here for a while, and it has been very educational!

Yesterday, I had a CM4228 put up on a 7' mast, tripod on my roof peak, maybe 60 -70' RG6 directly into my sony kdfe50a10.

The guys helped aim it for me, but I have been unable to get fox 29. I now do get: (as of a moment ago)

2.1 SS73, SNR 22 db
5.1 SS98, SNR 31 db
7.1 SS84, SNR 26db
9.1 ss95, snr 30db
23.1 ss95, snr 30db
43.1 ss 95 snr 30db
57.1 ss 95, snr 30db
66.1 ss 95 snr 30db


I have read that fox now has a more powerful, but directional transmitter.

when I manually tune in to 14.1, I get:
ss 41, flashes of 0-13-14 db

Am I likely to be able to fix this without losing anything else?

Is it a matter of aiming alone, or some kind of preamp, any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!!
bobbobbob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome